Online resources previously available to alums prior to COVID are now limited to current Loyola students, faculty, and staff. Check back here for updates on access to online resources.
Due to contract restrictions, some of the electronic legal research databases - including Lexis and Westlaw - are available only to current students, faculty, and staff of Loyola University Chicago's School of Law.
Online resources previously available to alums prior to COVID are now restricted to current students, faculty, and staff.
To locate helpful print materials, you can search the library catalog. If you need assistance, please request help from a reference librarian, located on the third floor.
To check out print materials, first you will need to be admitted to the Law Library, which requires an alumni card, a photo Id., and signing into the guest log. To request an alumni card, visit the LUC Alumni Office website. To check out any materials from the Law Library, you will need an additional card from the Law Library's circulation desk on the third floor. (Please note: this differs from the procedure used to check materials out from the LUC University Libraries.)
The usage of the copier requires a guest copy card that can be obtained in the basement of the Corboy Law Center for small fee. If you have any questions, please contact the Circulation Desk, at (312) 915-6986 for more information.
Alums do not have interlibrary loan privileges.
Fastcase is a legal research database alternative that provides lower cost access to federal and state case law, statutes, and regulations. Access to Fastcase is also provided to Illinois State Bar Association members, through the ISBA website, as a benefit of membership.
Nexis Uni, previously Lexis Nexis Academic, is a searchable database of news, business, and legal information. It includes company information, country profiles, Law Review articles, federal and state cases, U.S. Code, and administrative materials.
HeinOnline is a valuable collection of full text .pdf images of law journals, treaties, legal classics, and other legal materials.
PLI PLUS is an ebook platform that provides access to treatises, course handbooks, and answer books on a variety of topics from the Practising Law Institute (PLI), a highly-respected non-profit continuing legal education organization.
Gale's U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 database includes over 10 million scanned pages from documents submitted to the U.S. Supreme Court, including briefs and petitions, oral argument transcripts, memoranda, and other types of filings. The database covers 75,000 cases, including cases for which the Court did not issue a full opinion, and is searchable by keyword in full-text, as well as by case name and U.S. Reports citation.
The Foreign Law Guide, is the online version of the print resource often known as "Reynolds and Flores," which has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade, includes an overview of each indexed country's legal system and lists of sources of law (print and online) in both the official language and English (if available).
Loyola University Chicago
School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson Street
Chicago, IL 60611
Access and borrowing questions:
Law-Library@luc.edu
Research questions: LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu
Main: 312.915.7200
Circulation: 312.915.6986
Reference: 312.915.7205
Interlibrary Loan: 312.915.7202
Fax: 312.915.6797
