Intellectual Property Research Guide: Agencies or Other Entities Handling IP

Among other duties, the USTR negotiates, implements, and monitors intellectual property provisions of trade agreements. Its website has links to trade agreements and information by country and regions.

European Union agency responsible for EU patent application process.

EUIPO is European Union agency responsible for registering European Union Trade Mark (EUTM) and Registered Community Design (RCD) applications.

The PCT provides for filing a patent application in a number of contracting countries. WIPO administers PCT applications and provides further information.

WIPO, an agency of the UN, promotes cooperation among nations regarding IP. Its website includes links to treaties, patent and trademark searches, laws, a directory of IP offices, and statistics. Go to WIPO GOLD for links to WIPO's searchable databases, http://www.wipo.int/wipogold/en/.

Includes information about the Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) Agreement.

ICANN coordinates domain name system, including providing dispute resolution policies and procedures.

NAD is part of the Better Business Bureau. It reviews advertising for truthfulness and accuracy and provides for alternative dispute resolution.

Copyright licensing and royalty collection organization for print.

Copyright licensing and royalty collection organization for music.

Copyright licensing and royalty collection organization for music.

Copyright licensing and royalty collection organization for music.

Copyright licensing and royalty collection organization for music publishers.

Copyright licensing and royalty collection organization for music.