Skip to main content
site header image

Mergers and Acquisitions - Drafting and Negotiating Documents for Corporate Transactions: Commercial Databases

A round-up of print and electronice resources devoted to creating the documents involved in the purchase and sale of business organizations.

About this Page

This page highlights M&A databases and services available through the commercial research services (Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, Westlaw)  available to Loyola law students. They are listed in alphabetical order. Links to stand-alone treatises, practice guides and form books can be found here.

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg specializes in business information. There are a number of extremely useful M&A resources available via Bloomberg Law

Dealmaker Document Database

  

  • Bloomberg Law's Precedents (Dealmaker Document) Database enables a researcher to search across more than one million publicly-available agreements sorted into more than 600 categories.

Practical Guidance Library - M&A

  • Bloomberg's Practical Guidance-M&A Library provides transaction timelines, forms, checklists, document overviews, drafting guides and surveys for a myriad of different corporate transactions. In addition, it enables researchers to search clause descriptions, M&A resources, and step-by-step guides on a range of different merger and acquisition transactions.

Due Diligence Toolkit

  • The Due Diligence Toolkit offers one-stop shopping for checklists, documents, practical guidance and analysis for securities offerings and M&A.

 

Lexis Advance

Lexis Advance ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lexis Advance Corporate and M&A Practice Center

  

  • The Corporate and M&A Practice Center organizes all the important LexisNexis resources for M&A research onto one page. Resources include primary law, analytical material, company directories, practice guides, and current legal news. A researcher can search across all M&A resources and filter results or choose individual titles/services to search.

Lexis Advance Mergers & Acquisitions Practice Area

  • The Mergers & Acquisitions Practice Area offers many of the same resources ast the Practice Center, but without the fancy organization.

 

Westlaw

There are a number of ways to locate information relating to Mergers & Acquisitions on Westlaw. Below are some of the best places/ ways to search.

Practitioner Insights for Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A Practice Center)

  • Practitioner Insights provides a single access point for Westlaw information and analysis relating to M&A. The site provides access to primary law, analytical materials, litigation materials, forms and news. The site is maintained by West's attorney-editors.

Practice Point Corporate M&A

    

  • Practice Point is another attorney-editor-curated site intended for practitioners. Practice point integrates Practical Law know-how with West's primary law content, secondary sources and forms. The Practice Point interface organizes materials by task 

Practical Law - Corporate and M&A

    

  • Practical Law resources include practice notes, standard documents and clauses, checklists, toolkits, legal updates, market trend tools, state-specific guidance, and more. Resources are organized by topic, resource type and jurisdiction. Topics for Corporate and M&A include public M&A, private M&A and spinoffs.

Westlaw Business Law Center

  

  • Westlaw's Business Law Center includes precedent examples with deal information, regulatory insight and current news. The Business Law Center Research Library includes thousands of precedent forms and sample agreements organized by topic.

Sample Agreements

  • Sample Agreements provides access to over 1 million executed business agreements with language, clauses, and provisions drafted by leading law firms and in-house counsel. Agreements are sourced from EDGAR filings. There is a seperate topic for M&A transactions. Coverage begins in 2000.

West Formfinder - Corporate and M&A

     

  • Westlaw Corporate Form Finder allows one to search across all corporate forms from all West publications and form books. One can also browse or search individual form book sets.

 

Subject Guide