Skip to main content
site header image

Federal Law & Government Documents: Agency Materials

This guide provides information about researching federal law and government documents.

About Agency Materials in Databases

This page identifies licensed databases that include agency materials.  Access is limited to members of the Loyola community and, in some cases, the law school.  Other free Internet resources with agency materials are identifed under the tab "Web Resources," under Agency Materials.

Federal Register in Databases

Federal Register (FR)
The Federal Register includes proposed agency regulations, notices for public comment, and final regulations.  The Federal Register is published daily Monday-Friday, except holidays.  You can access it in the following licensed databases.  However, the current version is also available for free under Web Resources, Agency Materials

Westlaw
Westlaw Id. and password required.
Covers January 1, 1981-present.

Lexis
Lexis Id. and password required.
Covers July 1, 1980-present.

Hein Online
Federal Register Library
Covers 1936 (beginning)-almost current.
PDF of official version.

Code of Federal Regulations in Databases

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The CFR contains the final regulations.  It is organized into 50 titles corresponding to particular subjects.  The official CFR is updated once per year.  You can access it in the following licensed databases.  However, the current version is also available for free under Web Resources, Agency Materials

Westlaw
Westlaw Id. and password required.
Includes updates from the last printing of the CFR, index, and annotations, including court decisions.

Lexis
Lexis Id. and password required.
Includes updates from the last printing of the CFR, some annotations.

Hein Online
Code of Federal Regulations
Covers 1938 (beginning)-almost current, except 1942 and 1948.
PDF of official version.

Regulatory history in Databases

Proquest Regulatory Insight
Provides means to research regulatory history.

Finding Agency Information

Internet and Online Sources of U.S. Legislative and Regulatory Information
Research guide for identifying and comparing licensed databases and free Internet sources for legislative and regulatory materials. Provided by the Law Librarias' Society of Washington, D.C., Inc.

Researching Current Federal Legislation and Regulations: A Guide to Resources for Congressional Staff
Research guide for identifying and locating federal legislative and regulatory materials.  Provided by the Congressional Research Service.

Subject Guide