Skip to main content
site header image

Federal Law & Government Documents: Court Materials

This guide provides information about researching federal law and government documents.

About Court Materials in Databases

This page identifies licensed databases that include judicial materials.  Access is limited to members of the Loyola community and, in some cases, the law school. Other free Internet resources with judicial materials are identifed under the tab "Web Resources" under Court Materials.

U.S. Supreme Court Materials in Databases

U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Westlaw: U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Westlaw Id. and password required.
Contains all U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1790.

Lexis: U.S. Supreme Court Cases Lawyers' Edition
Lexis Id. and password required.
Contains all U.S. Supreme Court cases since January, 1790.

Hein Online: U.S. Supreme Court Library
Available to the Loyola community only.
Contains official U.S. Reports starting with Volume 1. 

U.S. Supreme Court Briefs
Westlaw: U.S. Supreme Court Briefs
Westlaw Id. and password required.
Contains briefs filed in the U.S. Supreme Court since 1930.

Lexis: U.S. Supreme Court Briefs
Lexis Id. and password required.
Contains briefs filed in the U.S. Supreme Court since August 12, 1936.

The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs
Available to the Loyola community only.
Covers 1832-1978.

The Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Available to Loyola community only.
Includes scanned court documents, such as briefs and transcripts.

Solicitor General
Solicitor General briefs from 1982-1997.

U.S. Supreme Court Transcripts
Westlaw: U.S. Supreme Court Oral Arguments
Westlaw Id. and password required.
Includes transcripts of oral arguments before the U.S. Supreme Court beginning in 1990.

Lexis: United States Supreme Court Transcripts
Lexis Id. and password required.
Includes transcripts of oral arguments before the U.S. Supreme Court beginning October 1, 1979  

The Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Available to Loyola community only.
Includes scanned court documents, such as briefs and transcripts.

Circuit and District Court Materials in Databases

Westlaw
Westlaw Id. and password required.
Includes databases for searching all federal courts or specific federal courts.  To find specific federal courts, look under "Cases" or search for your court by name.

Lexis
Lexis Id. and password required.
Includes databases for searching all federal courts or specific federal courts.  To find specific federal courts, look under "Cases-U.S." 

The Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Available to Loyola community only.
Includes scanned court documents, such as briefs and transcripts.

Subject Guide