Skip to main content
site header image

Federal Law & Government Documents: Court Materials

This guide provides information about researching federal law and government documents.

About Court Materials on the Web

This page identifies free Internet resources that include federal court materials. 

There also are licensed databases with these materials, such as Westlaw, Lexis, and Hein Online.  Access to these materials is limited to members of the Loyola community and in some cases the law school.  To get to the licensed databases with court materials, go to Databases, then Court Materials.

Court Materials on the Web-General Information

U.S. Courts
Website of the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.  Site includes information about the U.S. Supreme Court, Appellate Courts, District Courts, and Bankruptcy Courts, including court locator and statistical reports.

Federal Judicial Center
Website of the Federal Judicial Center, which Congress created in 1967 to improve judicial administration.  Site includes information about federal court operations and procedures, and court history, including biographies of federal court judges since 1789.

PACER
Provides access to case and docket information in the federal courts.  PACER charges a fee.

U.S. Supreme Court Materials on the Web

Supreme Court of the United States (Official Site)
Website has links to court's docket, rules, opinions, orders, oral arguments, and briefs on the merits.

Supreme Court Opinions 1992-2000 (GPO Access)
Website from GPO Access with browsable list of Supreme Court opinions from 1992-2000.  This is archival and will be phased-out in 2012.

Supreme Court Collection (Cornell University Law School)
Website from Cornell covering cases from 1990 to the present and over 600 of the Court's most important decisions from the founding to the present.  The site is searchable by topic, party, author, and current decisions.

U.S. Supreme Court Center (Findlaw)
Covers opinions from 1893 to the present, briefs from 1999-2007.

Oyez Project (U.S. Supreme Court Media)
Archive of Court decisions from 1792 to the present, including audio of oral arguments starting from 1955, case abstracts, and information about justices.

Circuit and District Court Materials on the Web

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit (Official Site)
Includes court rules, recent and select older opinions, calendars, briefs, oral arguments.

United Stated District Court for the Northern District of Illinois (Official Site)
Includes links to recently filed cases, rules, online forms.

Federal Law Materials-Judicial Opinions (Cornell University Law School)
Includes links to websites and opinions of circuit courts, special jurisdiction courts, and district courts.

Federal Court Locator (United States Courts)
Includes map with information on locating court location and contact information. 

 

Subject Guide