Skip to main content
site header image

International Commercial & Investment Arbitration Research: Journals

About

A number of periodical publications offer coverage of topics related to international commercial arbitration.  These titles are listed at right.  To access most of the electronic titles, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access.  Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on international commercial arbitration. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. The subscription database, LegalTrac, provides indexing of many international legal publications.  Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases. 

Transnational Dispute Management

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals.  The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline

SSRN

SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN).  Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge.  Materials may be dowloaded anonymously or with an individual login/password (free).

SmartCILP

SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest.  Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals.  Some subject headings related to international commercial arbitration are: "Comparative and Foreign Law," "Dispute Resolution," and "International Trade." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up. 

Journals & Other Periodicals (Electronic Format)

The following periodicals cover topics related to international commercial arbitration.  The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the publication title, along with the years covered. Earlier editions of some titles may be available in print format (see the box below). 

Journals & Other Periodicals (Print Format)

The following periodicals cover topics related to international commercial arbitration. Titles are listed only if print holdings supplement the dates of the electronic titles listed above, or if they are not available in electronic format through the Loyola Chicago Libraries.  Print periodicals are shelved on the 4th floor of the Law Library.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law.  Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database.  Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full text databases. 

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

Global Arbitration Review

Global Arbitration Review (GAR) is a subscription-based practitioner-oriented resource for international arbitration news. The London-based Review provides readers with breaking news updates, original annual reports and surveys, and in-depth features covering issues in international arbitration around the world. Surveys include the "GAR 100" that lists 100 firms engaged in "serious" international arbitration matters.  Current and archived issues of GAR are available. 

International Arbitration Reporter

Investment Arbitration Reporter is a subscription-based news and analysis service focusing on the international law that applies to foreign investment, particularly the international treaties and arbitration claims that arise between foreign investors and sovereign governments in this context. Investment Arbitration Reporter provides a particular focus on the investigation of unreported cases and comprehensive review and discussion of legal documents and important policy developments, helping interested readers stay informed of the trends in investment treaty arbitration. LUC patrons may sign up for email updates. 

PowerPoint Presentations

The following are PowerPoint presentations that were prepared for various LUC Law School courses related to international commercial arbitration.

Print Research Guide

Prepared in the summer of 2009, updated in February 2012, this 23-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library.  The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may be useful when approaching foreign, comparative and international law questions.