Skip to main content
site header image

Legal Research FAQs: Locating Law Review Articles

About

This page gives tips on how to find articles in law reviews and other legal periodicals.  Lexis and Westlaw require user IDs and passwords; HeinOnline and LegalTrac require a valid Loyola ID and password.

Locating Law Review Articles

Law review, or law journal, articles can be found in multiple places, including online databases and print copies within the Law Library's collection.  The main online databases useful for locating law review articles are Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline.  You must have your own password to access Westlaw and LexisNexis, while HeinOnline is a licensed database which is accessible to any user with a valid Loyola ID and password.  Most journal articles in Westlaw and LexisNexis are in an html format, whereas articles in HeinOnline are PDF files.  PDF documents are an exact image of the original print version, so they are useful for cite checking and verifying page numbers.  Another advantage to using HeinOnline is that it includes every issue of each journal it indexes, whereas the collections on LexisNexis and Westlaw usually go back only to the early 1980s.

Another subscription database useful for locating law review articles is LegalTrac, a legal periodicals indexing service which is also accessible to any user with a valid Loyola ID and password.  LegalTrac indexes all major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals, and thousands of law-related articles from general interest publications. You can browse or search by key terms.  However, you should be aware that for most indexed articles, LegalTrac provides only the citation information and not the full-text.  A similar indexing tool is available in print format, the Index to Legal Periodicals and Books, located in the Law Library's third floor reference section at Call Number K 33 .I545.

Print versions of law review articles can also be found in the Law Library's collection.  Most law reviews and journals are located on the fourth floor of the Library, arranged alphabetically by title.  To determine whether the Law Library carries a particular title in print, you can check the Library catalog for the journal title.  In addition to searching by journal title, you can now search the catalog by the title of the particular article or author you seek, and if the Library has electronic access to the article, the catalog will provide you with a link to the article.