Skip to main content
site header image

Researching Tanzanian Law: Journals

About

A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of African legal topics.  These titles are listed at right.  To access the majority of these publications, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access.  Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on African topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. The subscription database, LegalTrac, provides indexing of many international legal publications, but full texts are not always available.  Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases. 

Black World Studies Databases

See the list of suggested databases for research on African Studies under the Black World Studies heading for the Loyola Libraries. One of the databases that may be helpful in locating journal articles on African and Tanzanian law is, for example, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP).  Note that most of these are subscription databases that may only be accessed with a valid Loyola ID and password.

African Journals Online

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) provides the Tables of Contents and article abstracts for over 380 journals from 29 African countries.  Although some full-text articles are available as open access, the majority require a fee to download. Currently, there are 17 Tanzanian journals included in AJOL.   

The African e-Journals Project, a collaborative project of the Michigan State University African Studies Center, MSU Libraries, and Matrix, provides a digitized archive of 11 African journals in the humanities and social sciences.   

Sabinet:  African Journal Archive is a project of Sabinet Gateway, a non-profit organization that promotes library services in Africa.  Included in the Archive are digitized full texts of African journals in the Social Sciences, Humanities, and Sciences.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law.  Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database.  Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full text databases. 

Journals

The following journals cover topics related to African law.  The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the journal title, along with the years covered.

SmartCILP

SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest.  Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals.  Some subject headings related to Tanzanian law include "Comparative and Foreign Law," and "Human Rights Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up. 

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

Print Research Guide

Prepared in the summer of 2009, updated in February 2012, this 23-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library.  The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may be useful when approaching foreign, comparative and international law questions.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals.  The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline.