Skip to main content
site header image

Trial Advocacy Research Guide: Books

This guide provides information about and links to the most popular and most cited sources for trial advocacy. Topics include opening/closing arguments, pre-trial procedure, trial evidence, examination of witnesses, and jury selection.

Introduction

Treatises and practice materials offer a good place to start your research when you need substantial background information about a topic or in-depth information on a particular aspect of that topic.  Utilizing secondary sources like treatises and practice guides is particularly important for trial practice research so much of trial advocacy is a matter of learning techniques rather than locating caselaw or other primary authority. 

Practical Skills Collection

Located at the front of the Library stacks on the third floor, the practical skills collection is home to many of the Library's current titles on legal research, legal drafting, trial practice, and related skills like arbitration, counseling, and negotiation. If you are looking for a skills-related book on the fly, this collection is a great place for one-stop shopping.

Library Catalog Search Box

 

Advanced Search

Finding Trial Advocacy Books

This guide is intended to help students locate important resources on trial advocacy.  This section of the Guide contains links to and descriptions of "books" in the field.  Today, many trial advocacy "books" exist both in print and online.  If the library has the book or set of books in print, the call number and location are provided.  Otherwise, the user will see a link to a corresponding database.  There is a separate listing of all electronic titles under the 'Databases' tab.  Access to LexisNexis and Westlaw databases is limited to those users who have a valid Loyola ID and password; access to other resources may be restricted to the Loyola Law School community.

For purposes of this guide, "books" are divided into the following categories:

Locating Books Using the Library Catalog

Not every title that Library owns or has access to is included in these lists.  To search for books at LUC that are not on this list, please use Pegasus, LUC's online catalog.  There is a search box located on this page

The following Library of Congress subject headings may be of interest:

Cross-examination--United States
Evidence (Law)--United States
Evidence (Law)--Illinois.
Examination of witnesses--United States
Jury decision-making
Jury selection--United States
Objections (Evidence)--United States
Trial practice--United States

Trial practice--Illinois

To locate books in libraries outside the Loyola University Chicago System, use the WorldCat database (valid Loyola ID and password required).

Subject Guide