Trial Advocacy Research Guide: Trial Evidence and Objections

Also known as "Wigmore on Evidence, "this 13-volume treatise is probably the most significant work on the law of evidence. Kept up to date by twice annual supplements.

This eight-volume treatise provides extensive commentary on and analysis of the federal rules of evidence. Kept current by annual supplementation.

Also available online via Westlaw.

This multi-volume treatise was written as a practitioner's tool. It is not as exhaustive as other treatises such as Wigmore or Weinstein.

This two-volume practitioner treatise is an expanded version of the one-volume student hornbook by the same name. This title provides coverage of all aspects of evidence law but not in as much depth as titles like Wigmore or Weinstein.

Also available on Westlaw

This five-volume treatise, a separate undertaking from Wigmore on Evidence, provides detailed analysis and commentary on the following topics: evidentiary privileges; selected rules of limited admissibility; expert evidence; and evidence and other misconduct and similar events. Kept up to date by annual supplementation.

Also available on Westlaw

This six-volume loose-leaf set is recognized as one of the foremost authorities on the law of evidence. The set includes exhaustive background on and analysis of the Federal Rules of Evidence. It also includes citations to all state and federal cases decided under the federal rules.

Also available online via Lexis.

This treatise covers all the major evidentiary doctrines, and includes expert analysis of statutory developments along with discussions of the presentation of hard copy exhibits in court using document cameras and the presentation of digital exhibits using monitors or projection screens.

Also available online via Lexis.

This book is designed to provide the trial attorney with a ready reference for raising objections at trial and for making responses to objections.

This guide is a quick reference to the various ways in which the courts have translated the text of the Federal Rules of Evidence. It is useful for students enrolled in trial practice courses and clinics and is also helpful as an adjunct reference for students taking basic and advanced evidence courses.

This text provides a complete review of the effective use of evidence in a trial setting. The authors have structured their analysis around the way judges and trial lawyers think about evidentiary rules, with particular focus on the Federal Rules of Evidence. Numerous examples show how evidentiary issues actually arise, both before and during trial.

A practical desktop and courtroom answer guide. Includes incisive analysis by Judge Weinstein.

This book guides the reader in creating compelling graphics to strengthen a case and make a courtroom presentation more persuasive.

The author combines in-depth legal analysis with practical guidance to help practicing attorneys develop and use persuasive physical evidence. The book helps attorneys select the best type of demonstrative evidence and the best way to show it to the finder of fact. It also talks about preserving real evidence and the best ways to present it. Finally, the book deals with rules of evidence and with practical matters such as visibility and persuasiveness.

Book + 3 CD-ROMs.

In recent years, Facebook, Twitter, blogs, and other social media channels have become an evidentiary gold mine for impeaching witnesses and undermining a company's litigation position. Social Media as Evidence: Cases, Practice Pointers, and Techniques will assist any lawyer who encounters social media in their daily law practice. This book will help:

Learn the latest rules governing the preservation and use of social media data
Navigate complex social media issues with practice pointers
Advise your clients on records retention policies pertaining to social media
Comply with litigation holds on social media
Obtain evidence through social media during the discovery process
Evaluate and authenticate social media data
Use social media at trial by researching jurors, judges, and expert witnesses
Understand the ethical considerations and privacy rules regarding social media discovery

Social media is now used as proof of a crime; further, social media has become a vehicle for criminal activity. How should the law respond to the issue of online predators, stalkers, and identity thieves? This book comprehensively examines the complex impacts of social media on the major players in the criminal justice system: private citizens, attorneys, law enforcement officials, and judges. It outlines the many ways social media affects the judicial process, citing numerous example cases that demonstrate the legal challenges; and examines the issue from all sides, including law enforcement's role, citizens' privacy issues, and the principles of the Fourth Amendment. The author also shines a critical spotlight on how social media has enabled new types of investigations previously unimagined--some of which present ethical problems.

Social Media Law in a Nutshell attempts to give practitioners exposure to social media issues and concerns so they can better advise clients and approach the new social media world with their legal eyes opened to new and old risks alike.

This book informs crime scene investigators and other handlers about legal requirements for the handling of digital evidence and also provides guidelines for successful prosecution.

The purpose of this book is to provide attorneys, judges, and others interested in digital evidence and computer-related Fourth Amendment issues with an identification and explanation of some of the most important technical and legal issues that arise when computers, digital devices and network communications are the focus of investigation and potential use in a criminal or civil matter.

This book provides the reader with a guide to digital technology forensics in plain English. The authors explain how to determine what evidence to ask for, evidence might be that could be discoverable, and the methods for getting to it including relevant subpoena and motion language.

Also available online as an Ebook

This book provides a concise treatment of issues relating to the use of electronic information in litigation. It covers the preservation, search for, and production of electronically stored information, as well as ethical issues faced by lawyers managing this information.

This book explores the range of problems encountered with electronic communications from discovery to trial, and offers practical solutions to both existing and potential problems.

This book touches all the bases that a litigator needs to implement a successful discovery effort - from the technicalities of computer forensics collection to the presentation of electronic evidence at trial.

In recent years, Facebook, Twitter, blogs, and other social media channels have become an evidentiary gold mine for impeaching witnesses and undermining a company's litigation position. Social Media as Evidence: Cases, Practice Pointers, and Techniques will assist any lawyer who encounters social media in their daily law practice.

This annual publication is volume 11 of the Illinois Practice Series. Also available online via Westlaw.

Rev. ed. of: Cleary and Graham's handbook of Illinois evidence. Kept up to date with annual pocket parts

This annual volume is accompanied by a CD-Rom in the back of the book.

Also available online via Westlaw

This book provides the complete Codified Rules of Illinois Evidence with commentary, and also features a side-by-side color-coded comparison with the full text of the Federal Rules of Evidence (both pre- and post-2011 amendments).

Also available via IICLE Online.