Skip to main content
site header image

Law Library Alumni Services Guide: On Campus Legal Research Resources

Access to Electronic Resources

Due to contract restrictions, some of the electronic legal research databases to which we subscribe - including LexisNexis and Westlaw - are available only to current students, faculty, and staff of Loyola University Chicago's School of Law.  However, a number of others are available through four computers which can be used by anyone who has access to the library.  See the entries on this page for basic information about some of the most popular databases which you can access while visiting us.

Fastcase

Fastcase is a legal research database alternative that provides lower cost access to federal and state case law, statutes, and regulations. Note: Access to Fastcase is also provided to Illinois State Bar Association members, through the ISBA website, as a benefit of membership.

HeinOnline

HeinOnline is a valuable collection of full text .pdf images of law journals, treaties, legal classics, and other legal materials.

LegalTrac

LegalTrac is a legal periodicals index, which allows you to search efficiently for articles that have been published during the last 30+ years in law journals and legal newspapers.

Gale's U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs

Gale's U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 database includes over 10 million scanned pages from documents submitted to the U.S. Supreme Court, including briefs and petitions, oral argument transcripts, memoranda, and other types of filings.  The database covers 75,000 cases, including cases for which the Court did not issue a full opinion, and is searchable by keyword in full-text, as well as by case name and U.S. Reports citation.

Foreign Law Guide

This online version of the print resource often known as "Reynolds and Flores," which has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade, includes an overview of each indexed country's legal system and lists of sources of law (print and online) in both the official language and English (if available).

Subject Guide

Patricia Scott's picture
Patricia Scott
Contact:
Director, Law Library & Clinical Professor of Law

Philip H. Corboy Law Center

25 E. Pearson St.

Chicago, IL 60611

(312) 915-8515