A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of Asian legal topics. These titles are listed at right. To access these publications, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access. Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on Asian topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. The subscription database, LegalTrac, provides indexing of many international legal publications, along with some full text. Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases.
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals. The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline.
SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest. Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals. Some subject headings related to Thai law include "Comparative and Foreign Law," and "Human Rights Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full text databases.
The following academic journals cover topics related to Asian law. The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the journal title, along with the years covered.
The Thailand Journal of Law & Policy is an "academic law journal specializing in law, governance and societal issues in Southeast Asia." The non-governmental organization Foundation for Community Development and Legal Reform (FCDLR) has editorial and management responsbilities. The Journal was previously titled Thai Law Journal and commenced publishing in 1998. The issues are available electronically in full text through its web page.
Prepared in the summer of 2009, updated in February 2012, this 23-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library. The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may be useful when approaching foreign, comparative and international law questions.
The following PowerPoint presentation was prepared for the LUC Law School course, "Comparative Law Seminar: Thailand."