The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of Asian countries. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Thai legal topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers. Note that there is an Asian edition of the Wall Street Journal (Wall Street Journal Asia), which is published in Hong Kong Monday through Friday. The text of the aforementioned is available in LexisNexis and Westlaw.
A number of English language newspapers are published in Thailand and are available in an electronic format:
Bangkok Post (Factiva, Access World News, Westlaw)
The Nation (Factiva, LexisNexis, Access World News, Westlaw)
Business Day (Factiva (1998-2006))
Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Subscription Databases" link. Note that the Bloomberg BNA subscription databases are available to the LUC community only.
Prepared in the summer of 2009, updated in February 2012, this 23-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library. The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may be useful when approaching foreign, comparative and international law questions.
The following PowerPoint presentation was prepared for the LUC Law School course, "Comparative Law Seminar: Thailand."