Skip to main content
site header image

International & Comparative Competition Law Research: Journals

About

A number of periodicals offer coverage of topics related to international and foreign antitrust.  These titles are listed at right.  To access most of the electronic titles, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access.  Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on international and foreign competition law. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. The subscription database, LegalTrac, provides indexing of many international legal publications.  Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases. 

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals.  The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline

SSRN

SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN).  Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge.  Materials may be dowloaded anonymously or with an individual login/password (free).

SmartCILP

SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest.  Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals.  Some subject headings related to international antitrust are: "Comparative and Foreign Law," "Consumer Protection Law" and "International Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up. 

Periodicals (Electronic Format)

The following periodicals cover topics related to global antitrust.  The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the publication title, along with the years covered. Journals listed in the LibGuide on U.S. antitrust law may also cover international topics. Business periodicals may likewise include articles on antitrust in a global context. For business periodicals databases, see the LUC Libraries' LibGuide for Business Administration.

Periodicals (Print Format)

The following periodicals cover topics related to international antitrust. Print periodicals are generally shelved on the 4th floor of the Law Library.

Common Market Law Reports

The Law Library has a print subscription to the Common Market Law Reports (CMLR), which provides weekly coverage of EU case lawThe CMLR also includes the monthly CMLR Antitrust Reports and Index.  The latter is shelved at KJE 6456 .A7 C66 on the 5th floor. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law.  Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database.  Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full text databases. 

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

Handout

The following handout was prepared in the spring of 2014 for an LUC Law course on international and comparative antitrust.  The course was taught by Dr. Maciej Bernatt, a visiting professor from the University of Warsaw.  

Print Research Guide

Prepared in the summer of 2009, updated in February 2012, this 23-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library.  The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may be useful when approaching foreign, comparative and international law questions.