Skip to main content
site header image

Dispute Resolution Research Guide: Books

This guide provides information about and links to the Library's most popular and most-cited dispute resolution resources. Topics include alternative dispute resolution, arbitration, client counseling, collaborative law, mediation, and negotiation.

About This Page

More and more, legal disputes are being reolved without litigation.  The reasons for this trend are many and beyond the scope of this Guide.

The bulk of this guide consists of links to and descriptions of resources (books) designed to assist students and practitioners in understanding and being able to intergrate these alternative forms of dispute resolution into one's practice to best serve clients' needs. 

Practical Skills Collection

Located at the front of the Library stacks on the third floor, the practical skills collection is home to many of the Library's current titles on legal research, legal drafting, trial practice, and related skills like arbitration, counseling, and negotiation. If you are looking for a skills-related book on the fly, this collection is a great place for one-stop shopping.

Library Catalog Search Box

 

Advanced Search

Finding ADR Books

This section of the guide contains links to and descriptions of resources (books) pertaining to various aspects of alternative dispute resolution. Today, many ADR "books" exist both in print and online.  If the library has the book or set of books in print, the call number and location are provided.  Otherwise, the user will see a link to a corresponding database.  There is a separate listing of all electronic titles under the 'Databases' tab.  Access to LexisNexis and Westlaw databases is limited to those users who have a valid Loyola ID and password; access to other resources may be restricted to the Loyola Law School community.

For purposes of this guide, "books" are divided into the following categories:

Locating Books Using the Library Catalog

Not every title that Library owns or has access to is included on these pages.  To search for books at LUC that are not in this guide, please use LUC's online catalog.  There is a search box located on the left-hand column of this page.

One way to locate resources that Loyola students patrons have access to (whether in print or online) is to use keywords like 'family law and 'mediation.'  Another technique is to look for resources with the same Library of Congress subject heading(s).  To do that, follow the hyperlink for an item back to the full record in the Library catalog.  The full record will provide hyperlinks into the library catalog for all items with the same subject heading. 

The following Library of Congress subject headings may be of interest:

  • Arbitration and award
  • Compromise (Law)
  • Conflict management
  • Dispute resolution (Law)
  • Interpersonal conflict
  • Mediation
  • Mediators (Persons)
  • Problem solving

To locate books in libraries outside the Loyola University Chicago System, use the WorldCat database (valid Loyola ID and password required).

Subject Guide