Skip to main content
site header image

Journal Cite Checking Guide: Newspaper Articles

This guide is intended to assist journal members in locating print, PDF, or page image versions of cited materials for sourcing assignments.

Introduction

This page contains tips and resources for locating and retrieving newspaper articles that meet Bluebook requirements for citation.  In addition to general tips located below, this page contains tips for locating newspaper articles by type:

General Tips

  • Whether a searcher can locate an acceptable copy of an article from a newspaper's website is hit or miss.  Many newspapers require a subscription or charge a fee to access archived content. The good news is that the Bluebook has relaxed its rules regarding citation to electronic copies of newspaper articles.  See rules 18.2.2 and 16(f) for further guidance.
  • Today, many news articles actually appear in newspaper blogs or other online editions and never actually appear in a print newspaper. See Bluebook rule 18.2.2 for further guidance on how to cite these sources.
  • One way to search for newspaper content is to search for the name of the newspaper in the LUC Library Catalog.  If the newspaper is listed in the catalog and we have the date in question, whether it be in print or on microfiche, a student should be able to get the article via ILLIAD (interlibrary loan).
  • Many papers that LUC students have access to online are not, however, indexed in the Library Catalog. If a newspaper is not cataloged, a searcher can use Ulrich's Periodical Directory, a database available through the main LUC library page, to locate the newspaper title and check to see what database(s) include that title.  Then, search the database for the article. 
  • Much of the information for this guide was gathered from the excellent LUC Library News & Current Events guide, which is also worth perusing if one is stuck.
  • Citeable versions of newspaper articles are often hard to locate.  Don't be afraid to ask a reference librarian for help.

Major Newspapers

The LUC Libraries provide full-text access to most major newspapers.  This box contains both links to the ones most-often cited by law journal authors and a listing for the full-text newspaper databases for locating the rest.  For older newspapers, see the "historical newspapers" section of this guide

Major Newspapers (Current)

Chicago Tribune  (1985-present)

Los Angeles Times (1987-present)

New York Times (1980-present)

Wall Street Journal (1984-present)

Washington Post (1977-current)

Major Newspaper Databases

Access World News

Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers

Factiva (Dow Jones)

Factiva provides national and international content, including the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, as well as The Wall Street Journal.

Proquest Newsstand

ProQuest Newsstand is the online gateway to over 850 international, national, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Over 575 are full-text titles and many with backfiles dating back to the 1980s and 1990s.

 

Historical Newspapers

Major Historical Newspapers

Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1986)

Full-text and full-image articles published in the Chicago Tribune between 1849-1986

Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1984)

Provides indexing and full text content to the Los Angeles Times from 1881 through 1984. All sections and articles within the Times are fully viewable including, commentaries, letters to the editor, editorials, entertainment news, radio and television schedules, classified ads, advertisements, photographs, and comics.

New York Times Historical (1851-2007)

NYT Historical provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007)

Historical Newspaper Databases


Access Newspaper Archive

Access Newspaper Archive contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is searchable by keyword and date, making it easy to quickly explore historical content. This resource also now includes Illinois papers.

Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876)

This comprehensive collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers of 18th-century America and beyond.

Historical Newspapers

Allows cross-searching of the Chicago Tribune (1890-1985), the Chicago Defender (1905 -1975) the New York Times (1850-2001), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and the American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1900).

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities. Each issue is reproduced cover to cover.

Illinois Newspapers

In addition to the Chicago Tribune, fir which a link appears in the Major Papers section of this Guide, Many other Illinois newspapers are available in full-text online.

Illinois Newspapers (Local & Regional)

Fulltext electronic access to over 90 regional daily and weekly newspapers across Illinois. Advertisements are not included.

Illinois Newspaper Project University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Part of the U.S. Newspaper Program (USNP), a cooperative project to identify, catalog, and preserve the nation's historical newspapers. Includes a web-based searchable database of all newspapers discovered and preserved through the project. All microfilm

Foreign and International Newspapers

Access World News

Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers.

Factiva

Factiva provides national and international content, including the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, as well as The Wall Street Journal. It provides timely information from financial quotes, market data, newspapers, companies and industry news. Users can conduct in-depth research on companies, industries and regional affairs. There are 22 language interfaces and over 100 countries with multilingual content from more than 8,000 sources.

Subject Guide