Skip to main content
site header image

Journal Cite Checking Guide: Codes, Session Laws, Legislative Material, and Regulations

This guide is intended to assist journal members in locating print, PDF, or page image versions of cited materials for sourcing assignments.

Introduction

This page includes tips and sources for locating federal and state statutory, legislative and regulatory information.  The majority of this page is devoted to locating federal government information because that is the information Loyola cite checkers most often seek.  There is also a specific section outlining where to find Illinois information, to the extent that it is available, and a separate section outlining where to find information for other states.  Please be aware that some of the archived state materials for states other than Illinois is difficult to obtain because Illinois libraries tend not to collect this information and it it cannot be easily ordered via interlibrary loan.  This page includes the following sections:

Library Tip: Updating Federal Statutes Using Official Sources

Sometimes it is necessary to update and verify a federal statute, a part of the U.S. Code using official print resources instead of a commercial database.  This video from Loyola Law Library demonstrates that process.

How to Update Federal Statutes Using Official Sources

General Resources for Federal Materials

The following sources are listed in alphabetical order:

Congressional Information Service (CIS)
CIS is a “comprehensive effort to collect all the publications of Congress (except the Congressional Record).”  The series consists of print indices and abstracts and full-text of documents on microfiche.  Loyola’s collection spans from 1970-2009.  The set went online with Proquest Congressional, available through LUC main libraries site.

Congress.gov 
Formerly known as THOMAS, this website is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information.  Coverage varies, but generally speaking, the site provides full-text of Congressional documents back tom 1995.  The same information is available via FDsys.

FDSys (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/)
FDSys is an online service of the United States Government Printing Office (GPO) that provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.  Full-text coverage varies by publication.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline offers several libraries or collections of federal government documents including the Session Laws Library, the U.S. Code Library, U.S. Congressional Documents Library, and the U.S. Statutes at Large Library.  All documents are in PDF format.

Print
The Law Library has an extensive collection of federal law and legislative material in print. The Library’s collection of print legislative material is augmented by the Congressional Information Service collection on microfiche.

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is the digital counterpart to Congressional Information Service, above.  Access to this database may be had through the LUC Libraries Databases list (http://libraries.luc.edu/databases).  Full-text coverage varies.  Documents that pre-date ProQuest Congressional may be located using CIS or the Serial Set, depending on date of publication.

Serial Set Index (1789-1969)
The CIS U.S. Serial Set Index (KF 49 .S38 Reference) provides an index to older congressional documents.  Loyola does not own the Serial Set itself, i.e., the full-text of older congressional publications.  Once a researcher locates a document in the Serial Set, a trip will need to be made to a full federal depository library to retrieve the full-text.  Consult a librarian.

United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (U.S.C.C.A.N.)
This print set provides a copy of all federal laws and an edited legislative history for important laws.  Authors will often make reference to legislative history documents (congressional reports, debates etc.) as reprinted in U.S.C.C.A.N.  The Law Library has a full set of U.S.C.C.A.N. in print on the 4th floor (CALL No. KF 48) dating back to 1948. U.S.C.C.A.N. is also available via Westlaw.

Specific Titles-Federal Laws

United States Code
Print:     KF 62 (4th fl) 1940 -
FDsys:   1994- present
Hein Online: 1925-

Session Laws (Statutes at Large)
Print: KF 50 (4th fl) 1789 -
FDsys: 1995-
HeinOnline 1789-

Early American Federal Laws Collections
Hein Online U.S. Code Library 

Specific Titles-Federal Legislative Materials

Congressional Bills
FDsys: 1993 -
Congress.gov: 1993-
Proquest Congressional: 1989-
C.I.S. Microfiche: 1970- 2009

Congressional Debates (Record)
Print 1917-
Congress.gov 1995-
FDsys 1994-
HeinOnline 1873 –
Proquest Congressional 1985-

Congressional Reports
Proquest Congressional 1990-
Congress.gov:  1995-
FDsys:   1995-
C.I.S.      1970- 2009 (microfiche)

Congressional Documents
Proquest Congressional: 1995-
FDsys:   1975-
C.I.S.      1970-2009 (microfiche)

Committee Hearings
ProQuest Congressional: 1988-present (select)
FDsys:   1985-
C.I.S. 1970- 2009 (microfiche)(select)

Specific Titles-Federal Regulations

Code of Federal Regulations
Print: Library maintains most current set
HeinOnline: 1936-  (complete)
FDsys: 1996-

Federal Register
Print: 1936- (complete)
HeinOnline: 1936- (complete)
FDsys: 1994-

Illinois Resources

Illinois Code & Statutes
Print: 1871-
HeinOnline 1815-1931

Laws of Illinois (Public Acts)
Print: 1819-
LLMC: 1889-2005

Illinois Bills
Microfiche: 1988- 1997
ILGA.gov: 1997-

Illinois debates
Microfiche: 1970-1986
ILGA.gov 1970-

Illinois House Journals
Print: 1901-
ILGA.gov 1999-

Illinois Senate Journals
Print 1901
ILGA.gov 1999-

Illinois Administrative Regulations
Illinois Register
Print: 1997- (complete)
ILGA.gov: 1992- (not official)

Resources for Other States

HeinOnline:  Hein has two libraries that are helpful with state law cite-checking.  They are Session Laws Library which has the session laws for all fifty states and the State Statutes: A Historical Perspective library

LLMC:
Provides session laws and other legislative material on a state-by-state basis.

Legislative Websites:  Many state legislatures provide online access to laws/bills/debates.  Coverage varies by state.

If all else fails, consult a reference librarian.  We may be able to procure the information from another library.

Subject Guide