Skip to main content
site header image

Art & Cultural Property Law Research : Journals

About

A number of periodicals offer coverage of specific topics related to art and cultural property law.  These titles are listed at right.  To access most of the electronic titles, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access.  Note that many general topic law reviews and journals publish articles on art and cultural property law.  The texts of law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. The subscription database, LegalTrac, provides indexing of many legal publications, and offers some in full text.  Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases. 

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals.  The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline

SSRN

SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN).  Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge.  Materials may be dowloaded anonymously or with an individual login/password (free).

Periodicals (Electronic Format)

The following periodicals cover topics related to art and cultural property law.  The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the publication title, along with the years covered. Articles on these topics also appear in art journals, which are accessed through the non-law databases listed under the "Databases" tab. Business periodicals may include articles on arts management. For business periodicals databases, see the list of non-law databases listed under the "Databases" tab, along with the LUC Libraries' LibGuide for Business Administration.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law.  Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database.  Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full text databases. 

SmartCILP

SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest.  Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals. A subject heading related to art law is "Arts & Entertainment." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up. 

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

Loyola Law Library Holdings List

The following handout was originally prepared in 2013, and updated in the fall of 2015. The list includes the Law Library's holdings in the areas of art law, cultural property, and museum law.  Books in print and eBook format are included, along with journal titles and relevant databases. 

Print Research Guide

Prepared in the summer of 2009, updated in February 2012, this 23-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library.  The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may be useful when approaching foreign, comparative and international law questions.