Summer Associate Research Guide: Guides for Summer Success

A one-stop shop for current and prospective judicial clerks, the Guide explores the purpose and function of a judicial clerk, the nature and structure of the judiciary, how to apply for and obtain a clerkship, and more importantly, how to perform well during and after the clerkship. Among other things, it explains how to draft opinions, bench memos, professional emails, and orders as well as how to prepare for oral argument, hearings, and trials. It also discusses judicial ethics, professionalism, confidentiality, social media, courtroom decorum, judicial drafting, docket management, and other issues that judicial clerks commonly encounter. The Guide breaks down complex assignments, such as bench memo drafting, into a series of simple, concrete steps and provides checklists, graphical illustrations, annotated judicial opinions, and sample emails, cover letters, resumes, bench memos, etc.

The text is a go-to source on judicial clerkships. It focuses on what clerkships are, what kind of work clerks do, why you should apply, how to find and apply for the type of clerkship that would be right for you. It also includes chapters on how to give a strong interview, and why clerkships give you stellar credentials that prospective employers will actively seek out.

Excellence in the Workplace: Legal and Life Skills in a Nutshell provides tools and techniques for success on the job and in life to students and lawyers beginning their careers. It progresses from preparing for the first day of work, to work-life balancing. The authors discuss fundamental lawyering skills such as analysis, research, writing, oral communication, and time management Introduce the characteristics of emotional intelligence, effective interpersonal relationships, models of professionalism, conflict and stress management, and generational differences.

From Finals to the Firm: The Top 10 Things New Associates Should Know is a humorous and practical title that assists law students and younger associates transition from law school to a law firm. It helps students avoid the pitfalls the authors faced at law firms and offers informative and insightful advice that will lead to a more rewarding law firm experience and to more productive associates. Note the bonus chapter specifically for summer associates.

This book addresses the key concepts and basic skills clerks and externs need to have on day one. It explains rudimentary tasks, such as reading a docket sheet and working with a case file, and offers detailed instructions on drafting jury instructions. Sources of authority commonly relied upon by the courts are identified for specific topics, and a helpful note-taking system is provided. Standards of review are covered in detail, including the standard for mixed questions of fact and law. Useful checklists are provided as well for drafting documents.

Judicial Clerkships: Legal Methods in Motion teaches a combination of analytical and practical skills. With its three part focus, the book:

• 1. Provides an introduction to clerking in both the trial and appellate courts;
• 2. Explores clerking for an appellate court, including lessons in thinking and writing for these courts; and
• 3. Offers a complete complete discussion of the analytical and drafting skills necessary for trial court judicial clerks.

Judicial Clerkships: A Practical Guide is a comprehensive guide to working as a judicial clerk. The book explains (1) the role and duties of judicial clerks, (2) how to adapt the writing style used in law school classes and journals for use in the judicial clerkship setting, and (3) the form and content of specific documents written by judicial clerks. The book discusses how to write bench memoranda, opinion drafts, orders, findings of fact and conclusions of law, jury instructions, and letters and other professional correspondence. In addition to explaining how to write specific documents, the book reviews the fundamentals of good writing, research, and citation. It also features chapters on how to apply for clerkships, the different kinds of clerkships, and the ethical responsibilities of clerks.

This handbook provides an overview of chambers operations and the work of the federal courts.

Swimming Lessons for Baby Sharks contains critical advice new graduates need to thrive. Completely revised and updated, the Second Edition includes vital new information on networking, client service, business development, project management, and many other topics.

Audience -- Writing to the prospective employer -- Writing to the supervisor -- Writing to the e-mail recipient -- Writing to the client -- Writing to opposing counsel -- Writing to the mediator -- Writing to the trial judge -- Writing to the appellate judge -- Writing to the consumer -- Drafting for the transactional lawyer -- Writing for the citizen -- Writing for the screen reader -- A word about citation.