Skip to main content
site header image

Researching the Law of the Spanish Autonomous Communities: Journals & Newspapers

About

A number of law reviews, academic journals, and newspapers include coverage of Iberian legal topics.  These titles are listed at right.  To access these publications, you may need to be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access.  Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on country-related topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. The subscription database, LegalTrac, provides indexing of many international legal publications.  Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases. 

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals.  The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline.

Journals

The following is a list of selected academic journals that cover topics related to the laws of Spain and the Autonomous Communities.  The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the journal title, along with the years covered. There is a list of of free online Spanish law journals on the delajusticia.com site. A list of online law reviews from Spain and Latin America is posted on the Universidad de Salamanca's law faculty page

Newspapers

Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching topics related to Spanish law.  Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers.  See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.  For a list of newspapers published throughout Spain, see this link. For online European news in English, see euronews

 

El País's Coverage of the Spanish Autonomous Communities

El País is Spain's most well known and most read daily newspaper.  Its editorial offices are headquartered in Madrid, but it has regional offices throughout Spain. National and regional editions are published, and there is also an online English-language version. 

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

SmartCILP

SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest.  Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals.  Some subject headings related to Spanish law include "Comparative and Foreign Law," "Civil Law," and "Human Rights Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law.  Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database.  Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.