To find an item in Loyola's collection that is not listed at right, please use Loyola's online catalog. Some suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings for titles on Tanzanian law are:
Law--Tanzania
Rule of Law--Tanzania
Human Rights--Tanzania
Judicial Process--Tanzania
Justice, Administration of--Tanzania
Tanzania--Politics and Government
Note that some general books on African law and politics may contain information on Tanzania. The term "Africa" may be substituted for "Tanzania" in the above-listed Subject Headings to locate these titles. To find books in libraries outside the Loyola University Chicago system, use the WorldCat database. Loyola Chicago Law School patrons should use ILLiad to request materials from non-Loyola libraries.
There are several Web-based initiatives that serve as online repositories for books:
HathiTrust: HathiTrust is a partnership of over 50 major research institutions and libraries. Works that are in the public domain contained in the HathiTrust database are available to all researchers. Many search options are offered, including full-text.
Google Books: Books contained in Google Books come from two sources: 1) The Library Project and 2) The Partner Program. Books included from the partnered Library Project that are no longer in copyright may be viewed in full text, while only snippets of books still in copyright are available. Only previews of books are available through the Partner Program.
Legal Systems of the World: a Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia by 
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History by 
African Perspectives on Tradition and Justice by 
Do African Children Have Rights? : a Comparative and Legal Analysis of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child by 
Gender, Justice, and the Problem of Culture: From Customary Law to Human Rights in Tanzania by 
Gender Justice and Legal Pluralities by 
Human Rights, the Rule of Law, and Development in Africa by 
Land as a Human Right: a History of Land Law and Practice in Tanzania by 
Law, Culture, Tradition, and Children's Rights in Eastern and Southern Africa by 
Muslim Family Law in Sub-Saharan Africa by 
Voices of African Women by The full text of several pamphlets and books on the Tanzanian Parliament and Tanzanian politics are available in English through the Parliament's website.
The UK-based Global Legal Group Limited publishes an "International Comparative Legal Guide Series," with each title covering multiple jurisdictions, with each chapter dedicated to one country; Tanzania is included in the guide on employment and labor law. Local law firms generally author the chapters, which are in Q & A format.
