LibGuides: Chilean Law: Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of Latin American countries. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.

Newspapers

Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Chilean law topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.

Major newspapers in Chile are:

El Mercurio (coverage in LexisNexis, Westlaw, Access World News, Factiva)

La Nación (coverage in Factiva)

El Siglo

La Tercera (coverage in Factiva)

A historical archive of English and Spanish-language newspapers published in Latin America is also available through the World Newspaper Archive. Back issues of El Mercurio are available in the Archive with coverage from 1914-1922.

Readex: World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers

The Santiago Times

The Santiago Times is an English-language daily that is published on the WWW. There is currently free archival access to very recent articles.

The Santiago Times

Open-Access Scholarship Initiatives (Latin America)

There are several open-access scholarship initiatives that are based in Latin America:

CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales)
Based in Buenos Aires, CLACSO sponsors a network of open-access libraries that post Latin American scholarship.
Latindex
Latindex compiles bibliographic information for Ibero-American serials.
RedALyC
This is an academic open-access project focusing primarily on the sciences.
SciELO
This is a publishing portal for scholarship primarily in the sciences, with some legal content.

Subscription Databases (Law)

Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Databases A-Z" link.

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (Ebsco)
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.

Global-Regulation.com This link opens in a new window
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 3.5 million statutes and regulations, including over one million translated laws. The site provides links to official, full-text sources, translated into English, from over 100 jurisdictions (including the United States). The internal search engine offers advanced search and analytics capabilities.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains scanned images of U.S. and some foreign law reviews and journals back to their inception. Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database also includes a collection of historical documents and texts related to Chile, as well as a bibliography.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
This H.W. Wilson database provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but the complete articles may be available via another Loyola database, such as HeinOnline.

Kluwer Law International Journal Library - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline's Kluwer Law International Journal Library provides full-text access to 23 Kluwer Law International Journals, including: Air and Space Law, Arbitration International, World Trade and Arbitration Materials, International Journal of Comparative Labour Law & Industrial Relations, European Public Law, European Review of Private Law, and Legal Issues of Economic Integration. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

KluwerArbitration
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law provides a high level of analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The encyclopedia articles, modeled on those in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, address a range of topics, defining and covering the basis and foundations of state formation and constitutional law, as well as analyzing and explaining underlying legal concepts.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and The Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law are comprehensive analytical resources that feature peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. Contributors to the Encyclopedias include scholars and practitioners from around the world, and articles are edited by a team from the prestigious Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. Updated quarterly.
A video tutorial on using the Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law is available at https://youtu.be/3JvVyxk32MQ.

TradeLawGuide
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
LexisNexis
For law school subscribers, under the" News" tab, choose "International by Country," then Chile. The "Esmerk Chile News" database provides English translations of business-related articles from the Chilean press.
Westlaw
For law school subscribers, in WestlawNext, go to "News" then "International" then "Latin America" then Chile. There are English language summaries available from El Diario.
World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents & Resources (HeinOnline)
Although this database focuses on links to the texts of foreign constitutions, the texts of monographs, relevant law review articles, and historical documents are also included. Chilean materials in the database, for example, include the full text of "A History of Chile" (Hancock, 1893) and "Argentina, Brazil, and Chile since Independence" (Rippy, et al., 1935). A bibliography on the Chilean constitution is also presented, as well as links to articles in HeinOnline that focus on Chile.

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases with coverage of Latin America, see the Loyola Libraries research page for "Latin American Studies."

ABI/Inform Global
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
Business Source Complete
This database includes the full texts of over 2,150 journals that collectively cover all business disciplines, as well as economics. Detailed country and company profiles are also offered. Coverage is international.
EconLit
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)
According to the database description, HAPI Online contains "authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States." The database is primarily an index (over 500 publications are included), but links to full text are provided when available.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. JSTOR includes a number of publications that specifically focus on topics related to Latin American Studies.
Medline
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature, including Spanish-language Chilean publications.
Passport GMID
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides comprehensive global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. For specific country information on Chile, choose one of the categories under "Economies" or "Consumers," and then a specific area of interest. Then choose "Chile" under one of the pull down menus for specific countries.
Project MUSE
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals.
Women's Studies International
This interdisciplinary database covers major areas within the general topic of Women's Studies, including sociology, history, political science and economics, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodicals are indexed, covering 1972 to present, although no full text is provided.
WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.

For open-access dissertations and theses, see:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Portal de Tesis Latinoamericanas

Theses Canada

PowerPoint Presentations

The first PowerPoint accompanied a talk on Chilean legal research given at the American Association of Law Libraries Annual Meeting in Seattle on July 16, 2013. The speaker was Sergio Stone, Robert Crown Law Library, Stanford University. (Posted with permission.)

The second set of PowerPoint slides was prepared for the LUC Law School course, "Comparative Law Seminar: Legal Systems in the Americas."