It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) is a collection of interactive lessons authored by law professors and librarians. Over 1,000 lessons, covering more than 40 different legal subject areas, are included. To use CALI, you must obtain our Law School's "authorization code" from Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (firstname.lastname@example.org or x5-6844). Follow the "Not a registered user yet?" link on the CALI website, and use our authorization code to register for your own CALI username and password.
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
LexisNexis is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
The Loyola Library catalog allows you to search for books, direct links to online journal articles (including articles in HeinOnline), and direct links to treatises in Westlaw and Lexis. You can also use the catalog to find materials that have been placed on course reserve, and to request books from the other Loyola Libraries.
PowerNotes is a productivity tool that allows you to gather, organize, and track legal research easily and efficiently. With PowerNotes, you can capture excerpts from any online resources, including Lexis and Westlaw, and then save, highlight, or annotate this content. You can also use PowerNotes to build and edit an outline as you research.
Access to PowerNotes is restricted to the Law School community. To get started using PowerNotes, please install the Google Chrome extension or the Firefox extension and then register for an account using your Loyola Law School email and Loyola's promo code, which you can obtain from Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (email@example.com or x5-6844).
The Law Library is now providing Loyola Law students with expanded access to West's Academic Study Aids Subscription. This service provides online access to hundreds of West publications, including all current Hornbooks, Concise Hornbooks, Nutshells, Black Letter Outlines, Flash Cards, Gilbert Law Summaries, and much more. By creating a free West Academic account, you can even highlight text or take notes online. You can search for individual titles in the collection by keyword, or browse by subject, material type, or series.
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.
The Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library provides online access to hundreds of Wolters Kluwer publications, including the popular Examples & Explanations series, Emanuel Law Outlines, and Casenote Legal Briefs. You can personalize your experience with your LUC email account to highlight text, take notes, add bookmarks, and save your favorite titles for easy retrieval, as well as download titles and read them while offline. You can search for individual titles in the WK Online Study Aid Library by keyword, or browse by subject or series.
A brief “how-to” video tutorial is available at https://youtu.be/fenbWHdzbyY.
WorldCat, a database within the OCLC FirstSearch collection of research databases, is a catalog of library holdings in libraries around the world. It contains millions of records and is an excellent source for identifying books, articles and other materials that you would like to request through interlibrary loan.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Co-edited and co-authored by Carmen Gonzalez, the the Morris I. Leibman Professor of Law at Loyola University Chicago School of Law, this handbook offers critical perspectives on the multidimensional, intersectional nature of environmental injustice and the cross-cutting forms of oppression that unite and divide these struggles, including gender, race, poverty, and indigeneity. The work sheds new light on the often-neglected social dimension of sustainability and its relationship to human rights and environmental justice.
Casetext is a legal research platform that leverages artificial intelligence and data science to provide efficient and intuitive legal research tools. Current Loyola Law students, faculty, and staff have free and unlimited access to all databases and tools in Casetext including CARA A.I. (please note that an LUC.edu e-mail address is required for registration).
Cheetah is the new Wolters Kluwer legal research platform, fully replacing IntelliConnect as of January 1, 2019. Cheetah provides easy access to statutes, cases, administrative agency materials, and secondary source materials from the following practice areas: Antitrust, Banking & Consumer Finance, Government Contracts, Health Care, Intellectual Property, Products Liability & Insurance, Securities, and Corporate Law. For more information on using Cheetah, you can refer to the Cheetah Quick Start Card, available at https://lrus.wolterskluwer.com/media/wk/lnb/pdf/training/cheetah/cheetah-quick-start-card.pdf.
Cheetah usage is limited to current Loyola Law faculty, students, and staff for academic (i.e. non-commercial) purposes only.
HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice collection brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States. This collection contains hearings and committee prints, legislative histories for landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, allowing users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Edward Elgar is a leading publisher of research and scholarship in environmental law. The Edward Elgar Environmental Law Essentials Collection provides online access to Elgar’s top 50 environmental law e-book titles, focusing on a range of issues and topics including: climate change, renewable energy, international agreements, water law, human rights, and food security.
NOMOS, compiled annually by The American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy (ASPLP) is a highly regarded series that includes scholarly works from some of the most distinguished and accomplished scholars in political and legal philosophy. This HeinOnline Library is a robust thematic collection of more than 60 volumes covering valuable interdisciplinary research. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
PLI PLUS is an ebook platform that provides access to treatises, course handbooks, and answer books on a variety of topics from the Practising Law Institute (PLI), a highly-respected non-profit continuing legal education organization. You can search the collection by keyword, book or chapter title, author, or subject. You can even create a free PLI account (using your LUC email address) to save favorite titles and to highlight and annotate content.
The Procertas Legal Technology Assessment (LTA) is a series of training modules and assessments designed to help legal professionals become more proficient at using Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel, and Adobe Acrobat. The Law Library is providing access to the LTA for all Loyola Law School students, faculty, and staff. Individual login credentials are required for access to Procertas; to set up your own Procertas account, please contact Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (firstname.lastname@example.org or x5-6844).
This HeinOnline collection provides access to the constitutions of the 50 states of the United States, together with related documents and resources. Containing the text of every constitution that has been in force for every state with the original, consolidated and current texts and an extensive collection of documents from before statehood, State Constitutions Illustrated provides comprehensive coverage and allows researchers to compare multiple editions from multiple sources. It currently has nearly 10,000 historical and current constitutions and constitutional documents, which can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.