A-Z Databases

The Aspen Learning Library (formerly known as the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library) provides online access to hundreds of publications, including the popular Examples & Explanations series, Emanuel Law Outlines, and Casenote Legal Briefs. You can personalize your experience with your LUC email account to highlight text, take notes, add bookmarks, and save your favorite titles for easy retrieval, as well as download titles and read them while offline. You can search for individual titles by keyword, or browse by subject or series.

Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal research service that provides access to U.S. federal and state primary law, Bloomberg BNA commentary and analysis, news, company information, dockets, and more. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords which permit full access to the site's content year-round (including during the summer months) and for six months after graduation, with no academic use restrictions.

CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) is a collection of interactive lessons authored by law professors and librarians. Over 1,300 lessons, covering more than 40 different legal subject areas, are included. To use CALI, you must obtain our Law School's "authorization code" from Joe Mitzenmacher, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian (jmitze1@luc.edu or x5-6844). Follow the "Not a registered user yet?" link on the CALI website, and use our authorization code to register for your own CALI username and password.

HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

LexisNexis is a comprehensive legal research system consisting of innumerable legal and business-related databases, which are fully searchable. Primary and secondary materials, including case law, statutes, administrative materials, treatises and more are included. Consult the online directory for a complete list of holdings. Current Law School students and faculty are assigned individual passwords for legal research for educational purposes only.

The Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS) was established in 1964 by the Administrative Conference Act to “provide for continuous improvement of the administrative procedure of Federal agencies.” It is an independent federal agency within the executive branch. In cooperation with the Conference, its recommendations, reports, and other miscellaneous publications are now made available within this fully searchable, image-based HeinOnline collection.

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice collection brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States. This collection contains hearings and committee prints, legislative histories for landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, allowing users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

HeinOnline's Labor and Employment: The American Worker collection contains primary and secondary sources on the American workplace, from the labor rights movement in the 19th century to the struggles of today. This collection includes content related to the establishment of a minimum wage and the 40-hour workweek, hazards faced by workers in the workplace and the safeguards in place to protect them, efforts to make the workplace equitable for all, and much more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for its broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. In this HeinOnline collection, you can find their reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

HeinOnline's U.S. Political & Legal History collection offers researchers an eclectic 50-state history of the United States. Presenting books, treatises, pamphlets, and other works showcasing the unique history of each individual state, from biographies of a state's famous sons and daughters, environmental issues, indigenous tribes, native animals, infamous trials, political scandals and more, all browsable at the state level. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.