Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Access to Law Library Resources during the COVID-19 Emergency: Home

A guide to resources available remotely to Loyola Law students, faculty, and staff.

Access to Circulation Services and Study Spaces

Beginning on June 1, the 3rd floor lobby of the Law Library will be open Mondays through Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Fridays from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  The 3rd floor lobby area will be open for picking up books and for printing. At this time, no study space is open in the Law Library.  The 4th and 5th floors of the library are not open. 

The Law Library will only be open to current Loyola Law students, faculty, and staff, and to current Loyola paralegal students. For more information, please see the following links:

If you have any questions about the Law Library’s access policies, please email law-library@luc.edu

If you have any reference/research questions, please email LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu

Loyola University Chicago Coronavirus Website and Updates

Access to Reference Services and Hours

Hours

As of Monday, May 17, law librarians will be available remotely from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Mondays through Fridays to answer reference/research questions. If you have any reference/research questions, please email LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu. We will be checking this email address regularly.

Evening and Saturday reference assistance may be available by appointment. Please email LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu to inquire about reference appointments.

The sections below provide access to many of the most important resources that patrons may need during the Law Library's closure.

Access to Study Aids

The Law Library provides access to online study aids from West Academic and from Wolters Kluwer. In addition, students have access to CALI lessons and tutorials.

We have heard reports of students who are having issues accessing the audiobooks in the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library. If you are experiencing this problem, please follow these steps:

  1. Go to https://ebooks.aspenlaw.com/
  2. Click Login and enter Username: luc_student and Password: welcome123
  3. Students can then log in to their personal account from the Bookshelf page.

Access to Electronic Resources

Most of the Law Library's electronic resources are available to current Loyola Law students, faculty, and staff remotely, whether through individual user name/password access (e.g. Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg Law) or through IP/Proxy access (e.g. HeinOnline, Gale, ProQuest).

  • Check the Law Library’s A-Z Databases Page for a complete listing of resources and how to access them.
  • Check the University Libraries' A-Z Databases list for additional resources available to current members of the Loyola Law Community (e.g. JSTOR, New York Times, Wall Street Journal).
  • Check the Law Library's Research Guides Page for topical research guides.
  • The Law Library has set up free temporary access to the Bluebook Online. To create your account, you will first need to obtain an access key by emailing loyolalawreference@luc.edu. Once you have your key, go to https://www.legalbluebook.com/sign-up and first sign up for a free trial. After you have signed up for your free trial access, log in with your account and then go to https://www.legalbluebook.com/bluebook/subscription. Then scroll down to the bottom of that page to redeem your access key. You must use your LUC email to set up your Bluebook account. Once your account is set up, you will be able to access the site's content with your username and password, and your account will be active for 60 days from the date on which you created it.
  • For the duration of the statewide shelter-in-place order, IICLE is allowing current Loyola Law students, faculty, and staff to have off-campus access to the IICLE Online database through Loyola's proxy server.
  • Tax Notes has made its Coronavirus Tax Coverage page free to all researchers. This page includes relevant state, federal, and international tax news and analysis.
  • American Health Law Association is allowing free access to its Coronavirus Pandemic Hub. The hub includes information to help the public stay abreast of developments on the pandemic, with a specific focus on resources developed by AHLA for the health law community.
  • Wolters Kluwer is making access to its Cheetah Smart Charts on COVID-19 free for all users. These Smart Charts allow users to compare COVID-19 content by subtopic and jurisdiction (state and federal), all in one platform. This resource will be updated three times per week (Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays).
  • Oxford University Press is providing free online access to European Journal of International Law through June 2020. A valid LUC email address is required for access.
  • HeinOnline has made the special COVID-19-themed issue of Medicine and Law freely available. HeinOnline has also created the new COVID-19 in America: Response, Issues and Law Collection. This collection is a compilation of federal government reports and other publications on the various ways COVID-19 has impacted every aspect of life, organized into the following areas of impact: Economics, Global, Health, and Society.
  • Law360's Coronavirus Regulations: A State-by-State Week in Review is a free weekly roundup of state activities related to COVID-19, including pending bills, new regulations, and executive orders.

Library Liaison Program for Law Faculty

In addition to having 24/7 availability for most our online resources, each Loyola Law faculty member is assigned a professional librarian as a liaison. Even remotely, your library liaison can assist you with locating resources or with special research projects. 

If you're not sure who your liaison is, or have lost their contact information, please check the Faculty Liaison List, or contact LoyolaLawReference@luc.edu.

Due Dates/Returning Items

 

Due Dates are Extended
  • Law students that have Loyola books out are now now due September 25, 2021.
  • Additional extensions will be made if necessary. Please email Shane Peterson at speterson4@luc.edu if you have questions about renewing your library materials.
Returning items
  • You can return books to the Law Library Circulation Desk on Tuesdays and Fridays 9am to 5 pm.  
  • Otherwise, you can return books to the University Library's drop box in the Corboy Law Center Lobby Monday-Friday, 9am - 5pm.  Please note, there may be a delay if you return books this way.  Books may not be immediately removed from your account.  
  • We ask that you do not return books by mail.
Checking your Library Record
  • If you wish to see what Loyola University Chicago items are currently checked out to your account, please log into your Loyola Library account here.
  • To see what Interlibrary Loan books you current have checked out, please log into your ILLiad account here.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services:

Returning: 

If you currently have a physical book through ILL, which is about to be due or is overdue, we are currently asking you to hold onto it until returns can be arranged. Please email Shane Peterson at speterson4@luc.edu with any questions.

Borrowing: 

Beyond Loyola, library closures worldwide have also meant that staff everywhere are unable to access their physical collections. Due to this, and the uncertainty involved in circulating materials through the mail in these conditions, Interlibrary Loans for physical items, or for scans of physical items (including books, journals and media), are suspended until further notice.

Law students, law faculty and law staff can still request scans of items available online, but because different libraries will have different ability to provide these resources during closure, and/or limited service, delays should still be expected.We are working with libraries around the country to fill as many requests as we can.

  • ILL borrowing will be limited to electronic articles and portions of electronic books only. 
  • Physical access to collections is not currently an option.
  • Please be aware that even if an electronic article or part of an e-book is available, we might not be able to get it due to licensing or staffing situations. 

Check your ILLiad account here.

Questions about ILL can be directed Shane Peterson speterson4@luc.edu.

 

Corboy Law Center Study Spaces

Classrooms are available for studying in Rooms 301, 302, 306, 326 and 425 of the Corboy Law Center.

  • Mondays through Thursdays:  9 am to 8 pm
  • Fridays:  9 am to 5 pm

CLASSROOMS ARE FOR CURRENT LOYOLA LAW STUDENTS ONLY.

Face masks or face coverings must be worn by all students, faculty, and staff while on any of Loyola’s campuses.

Please wipe down your seat and table area after use using the available sanitizer spray and paper towels.

Wear Your Loyola ID. It is now required that a valid University ID be worn by every student, faculty/staff member, or University contractor while on campus.

 

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Joe Mitzenmacher
Contact:
Reference & Electronic Services Librarian
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312-915-6844

Synching Google Scholar with Loyola Library Databases

Google Scholar can be synched with the content of the Loyola Libraries' journal databases by following these steps:

1)  From the Google Scholar homepage, go to the pull-down menu in the upper left-hand corner. 

2)  From the pull-down menu, choose "Settings."

3)  Under "Settings," select "Library Links."

4) In the search bar, type in "Loyola University Chicago," and search. Your search should be matched to "Loyola University Chicago Libraries," which will then be added to a list below the search box. Click on the small box next to "Loyola University Chicago Libraries," and then save your settings.

Now, when you search in Google Scholar, you should see the option "Find it at Loyola" on the right-hand side of your results, if the article is available via Loyola. Click on "Find it at Loyola," and follow the steps to access the article.  Note that you will need to log in with your LUC credentials (LOCUS login/password) to remotely access the full texts of articles from LUC Libraries' databases. 

Google Scholar Search

Business & Company Research

COVID-19: Federal, Illinois, Cook County, and Chicago Legal Responses

In addition to the following resources, note that both Westlaw and Lexis have added collections specific to COVID-19.