LibGuides: Wellness Resources for Law Students: Web Resources

About

Selected wellness resources which are available for free on the Web.

Disclaimer

The creators of this guide are not mental health experts or professionals. Information and links provided in this guide are meant to serve as examples and suggestions, and they are not specifically endorsed by the Loyola University, Loyola University Chicago School of Law, Loyola University School of Law Library, or its affiliates. Please consult a physician or mental health professional for further assistance and information. If you need immediate assistance please contact the Loyola University Chicago Wellness Center.

ABA Resources

Freely-available resources on wellness topics from the ABA.

8 tips for lawyers on how to build resilience
An article from the online ABA Journal.
ABA Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs
Includes an LAP directory, the Commission's Statement on Racial Inequity, and a 50-State Survey of Bar Exam Character and Fitness Questions to help prepare law school graduates to complete their bar applications.
ABA for Law Students: Mental Health Resources Page
ABA mental health resources geared toward law students. This page includes a substance abuse and mental health toolkit, resources from the ABA Lawyer Assistance Program, articles, podcasts, blogs, and more.
ABA for Law Students: Mindfulness Blog Posts
Mindfulness topics geared toward law students from the American Bar Association's Student Division.
ABA Mental Health Essentials Archive
A listing of articles, podcasts, and videos on law student wellness.
ABA Research Data Bank
From the ABA Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs (CoLAP), this page provides links to research and articles on mental health issues affecting lawyers and includes articles on law students' mental health.
ABA Study on Lawyer Impairment
Conducted by the ABA Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs in collaboration with the Hazelden Betty Ford Foundation, this 2016 survey examines alcohol use, substance abuse, mental health issues and help-seeking behaviors of lawyers.
Essential Mental Health, Physical Health, and Wellness Resources for Bar Exam Prep
This article from the ABA's Young Lawyers Division provides tips on maintaining your physical and mental well-being as you prepare for the bar exam.
Gratitude for Law Students: “Issue Spotting” for the Good in your Life
This article from ABA Student Lawyer provides tips on overcoming negative thinking by practicing gratitude.
How to Mentally & Physically Prepare for the Bar Exam
This video (accompanied by presentation slides) shows you how to mentally and physically prepare yourself to study and pass the bar exam.
Identifying Burnout and How to Fix It
An article for young legal professionals, written by a mental health professional.
The Law Student Podcast talks mental health in the legal profession
In this ABA Student Lawyer podcast from 2021, guest Patrick Krill (a lawyer and expert in the field of mental health in the legal profession) discusses his extensive research and work in this area and offers invaluable perspectives on how to be in tune with your own mental health and how to seek help when you need it.
The Path to Law Student Well-Being Podcast Series
"The Path to Law Student Well-Being" is a podcast series sponsored by the ABA Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar and Law Student Division.
Top Tips for Mental and Emotional Well-Being While in Law School
A February 2020 article that provides tips and suggestions on how to nurture your mental and emotional well-being while you are in law school.
Wellness, Mindfulness, Work-Life Balance
On this page, the ABA's Commission on Lawyer Assistance Programs has curated articles from various bar association groups on a range of wellness topics.

Free Web Sites

The 15 Best Health Podcasts
A listing of podcasts from Healthline.com, selected for "accuracy of information, originality, and listenability."
Findlaw Attorney Wellness Page
A listing of wellness resources for attorneys, including lawyer assistance programs by state, anonymous self-assessments, and information and statistics on stress/anxiety, depression, substance abuse, and lawyer burnout.
Illinois Lawyers Assistance Program (LAP) Services for Law Students
The LAP provides free, confidential services, including consultations, assessments, individual and group therapy, referrals and interventions, to all Illinois law students.
Illinois Mental Health Task Force
From the Illinois Courts Web site.
Institute for Well-Being in Law
The Institute for Well-Being in Law (IWL) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the betterment of the legal profession by focusing on a holistic approach to well-being. The IWL Web site includes relevant news, policy proposals, events, and the 2017 "Path to Lawyer Well-Being" report (below).
Lawyers Depression Project (LDP)
The LDP is a grassroots project dedicated to helping break the stigma around legal professionals discussing mental health issues and to providing peer support. The LDP hosts a confidential forum and bi-monthly online peer-to-peer support group meetings and offers members the option of anonymity.
Lawyers with Depression
A Web site created by a practicing attorney to help members of the legal profession deal with stress, anxiety, and depression. Includes a podcast, blog, and other resources.
Mehlhorn, Buchanan, and Cumello on Breaking the Stigma: Fostering Wellbeing in the Legal Profession
In this podcast from the Three Geeks and a Law Blog site, hosts Marlene Gebauer and Greg Lambert have an enlightening discussion with three experts on concrete ways to foster greater wellness within the legal profession.
Mindfulness in Law Society
The mission of the Mindfulness in Law Society is to help promote well-being and alleviate suffering in the legal profession, nationally and internationally, by educating it about the benefits of mindfulness, yoga, and other contemplative practices. The Mindfulness in Law Society sponsors events, offers virtual mindfulness sessions, and presents news and articles on the topic. Membership for law students is free!
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Chicago
NAMI Chicago refers community members to over 700 resources through their free Helpline, open seven days a week. This Web page includes a non-exhaustive listing of helpful hotlines and resources.
National Institutes of Health Emotional Wellness Toolkit
This toolkit provides evidence-based strategies for improving your emotional health.
On Self-Care in the First Year of Law School
A blog post with tips on maintaining your physical health, emotional and social health, spiritual health, financial health, and academic health.
The Path to Well-Being Report
In 2017, the National Task Force on Lawyer Well-Being (which, in 2020, became the Institute for Well-Being in Law) published The Path to Lawyer Well-Being: Practical Recommendations for Positive Change. The Report includes included specific actions members of the legal community (including law schools) could take to make wellness a priority.
USA Mental Health First Aid
Mental Health First Aid is a skills-based training course that teaches participants about mental health and substance-use issues.
Ways to Improve Your Workspace to Promote Health and Wellness
A brief post from the Cleveland State University College of Law Library blog featuring tips to make your workspace more conducive to your mental and physical health and wellness.

Subject Guides

Joe Mitzenmacher

Email Me

Contact:

Reference & Electronic Services Librarian
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611

312-915-6844