Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are numerous free websites that can assist in locating Latin American primary law, as well as secondary information on Latin American legal topics.
COVID-19 in Latin America
Since March 2020, a global team of law librarians and experts has been closely monitoring the rapidly developing legal and governmental responses to the COVID-19 crisis in Latin America and the Caribbean. Biweekly reports are being published on the group's website, Monitoring COVID-19 in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Digests of Latin American Jurisprudence
The Due Process of Law Foundation has published several digests on Latin American national case jurisprudence:
The 2013 Digest on Indigenous People's Rights compiles and analyzes high court decisions related to indigenous rights in nine Latin American countries. The countries covered are Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Panama, and Peru. In Spanish only.
The 2015 Digest on the Rights of Victims is available in English.
Two digest volumes on International Crimes (2010 and 2013) are also available in English.
This site, hosted on the Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes platform, provides access to current and historical constitutions in the Spanish-speaking world.
This is an online repository of constitutions. Developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project, the site allows for comparison of passages from selected documents. The site is also available in Spanish through a menu in the upper right-hand corner of the opening screen. Note that HeinOnline's "World Constitutions Illustrated" subscription database also contains the full texts of the constitutions of Latin American countries.
Spanish language portal, hosted by the University of Fribourg (Switzerland), provides access to crminal law resources from numerous countries.
The purpose of this website, jointly administered by several international organizations (FAO, IUCN, and UNEP) is to provide the "most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law." The site includes a database of national environmental legislation, which includes Latin American nations.
Guide to Law Online: Nations
This is a set of annotated web guides to locating and researching national law, organized alphabetically by country. The Law Library of Congress maintains the site.
IberIUS: Red Iberoamericana de Información y Documentación Judicial
According to the site,"IberRed brings together the Ministries of Justice, the Public Ministries and General Prosecutors, and the Judicial Branches, through their contact points, as well as the central authorities, through their liaisons, in order to facilitate international legal cooperation." Mostly in Spanish with some English-language content available.
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Resources
Hosted on the website of SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials), this is an open-access database that provides links to free digitized collections of primary sources related to Latin America and the Caribbean. The database provides access by country, format/genre, hosting institution, and collection title.
The International Labor Organization (ILO) maintains NATLEX--a database of national labor, social security, and human rights legislation. The database currently contains over 65,000 records, covering more than 190 countries. Records are provided in only one of the ILO's official languages, which are English, Spanish, and French. NATLEX is browsable by country and subject, and there is also an "Advanced Search" function available.
Political Database of the Americas
This is a large source of political information on Latin America, maintained by Georgetown's Center for Latin American Studies. Links to primary law are included, along with extensive information on national political parties and electoral data and systems.
UNESCO Database of National Cultural Heritage Laws
This is a database of national cultural heritage laws in the vernacular, as well as any available official or unofficial English translations. The database may be searched by country, heritage category, theme, type of instrument, and also by language.
WIPO Lex is an international database of Intellectual Property laws and treaties, maintained by the World Intellectual Property Organization. The database is searchable by country and subject, and there is also keyword search capability.
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Several non-profit regional legal information initiatives created and now maintain World LII. The site offers legal subject-based links for individual countries. Click on "All Countries" for an alphabetical list.
Aztec and Maya Law
Administered jointly by the Tarlton Law Library and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin, this is an online exhibition and bibliography.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Online)
Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the Handbook is an interdisciplinary bibliography of published works pertaining to the general topic of Latin American Studies. The Handbook is updated annually.
LACLI (Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources)
LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. The Latin America North East Libraries Consortium (LANE) established and administers the project.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
This is a comprehensive website dedicated to a variety of Latin American topics, including law and justice, political science, and human rights. According to LANIC's editors at the University of Texas at Austin, the site contains over 10,000 urls and is one of the largest sources of Latin American content on the WWW. Note, however, that this extensive portal has not been updated since 2015.
This is the website of the print publication, Latin Lawyer, which focuses on business law developments in Latin America. Some content is available on the website without a subscription.
Lex Mundi: Guides to Doing Business
This is a large collection of English-language overviews of conducting business in various foreign jurisdictions. The authors are members of Lex Mundi, a global organization of attorneys representing over 100 countries. Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, and Honduras are some of the Latin American countries featured in the collection.
Peace Palace Library
Located in The Hague, the Peace Palace Library serves the International Court of Justice and has been collecting international legal materials since 1913. The Library's website provides access to its online catalogue, as well as various research guides.
Refword is an international database, organized by country, and maintained by the United Nations High Commmission on Human Rights (UNHCR). The database contains a collection of reports and policy documents relating to refugee status and human rights issues.
SICE: the OAS Foreign Trade Administration System
SICE is the OAS' (Organization of American States) centralized databank of trade information. Included on the website are full texts of trade agreements and current information on trade policy.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
This is an extensive online collection of 60,000+ human rights treaties and other human rights documents. Numerous links are also provided to human rights websites. Additionally, there is a site-specific search engine available, and a section on "Resources for Researching Country Conditions."
World Bank: Doing Business
This page provides access to current "Doing Business" English-language guides for over 180 countries, based on annual World Bank surveys. Each guide provides detailed information on starting a business, dealing with permits, hiring workers, etc., in the specific locale.
Blogs & Current Awareness
There are numerous blogs that focus on international law, and several that focus on Latin American law generally, and others on the law of specific Latin American countries. Many of these are in Spanish. There are also sites that focus on Latin American current events and politics and regularly update their content.
NatLaw World Database
The National Law Center for Inter-American Free Trade, which is affiliated with the James E. Rogers College of Law at the University of Arizona, maintains the NatLaw World Database. This database contains laws, regulations, case law, and secondary source materials related to trade and investment for countries in the Americas. Most of the materials are in Spanish, although many English translations are available. Access to the majority of the database's content is by subscription, although some free materials are available.