Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most major U.S. journals specifically devoted to legal scholarhip are available via the Library's subscription to HeinOnline, or as otherwise indicated. To access HeinOnline from off campus you must have a valid Loyola user ID and password. There are a number of free portals to law journal content as well, as noted in the Free Electronic Journals Section. Our print law journals are located on the 4th floor of the Law Library arranged alphabetically by title.
Electronic Journals from HeinOnline
HeinOnline is the Law Library's premier resource for accessing published legal scholarship. A key benefit is the ability to download, print and e-mail the archived articles in PDF format.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Therefore, in some cases the current issues are available, but generally a user will notice a one-volume delay. Searching can be done by title or author name, as well as full-text searching of the collection or select periodicals. Date ranges may also be entered.
Free Electronic Journal Sources
While not as comprehensive as HeinOnline, these resources provide links to free versions of published legal scholarship.
University Law Review Project
The Coalition of Online Journals provides free full text search of online law journals (check the site for a list of included journals) and an e-mail notification of new articles
WashLawWeb Journals Page
An annotated listing of law journals, from Washburn School of Law.
Note - as of June 1, 2019, WashLaw Web is no longer being updated.
Law Journal Databases and Indexes
These indexes and databases provide author, subject and title access to the vast array of published and online legal scholarship.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - HeinOnline
Produced by the American Association of Law Libraries, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in nearly 500 legal journals published worldwide. IFLP provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the U.S., the U.K., Canada, and Australia. The HeinOnline version includes links to the full text (PDF) of more than 34,000 articles and book reviews in more than 100 periodicals that are available in other HeinOnline Libraries. Coverage is from 1985 to the present, plus browsable access to the digitized version of the entire print index dating back to 1960.
Legal Research Journals
These journals provide in-depth scholarly treatment of specific legal research issues and trends and topics in legal research and librarianship.
Law Library Journal
Scholarly articles on law, legal materials, and librarianship are the mainstay of the Journal. Practice-oriented articles, proceedings of the business sessions of the Annual Meeting, and annual reports of committees, special interest sections, representatives, and chapters are also included. A print copy is also available on the 4th floor of the Law Library at Call No.K 12 .A936.
Legal Reference Services Quarterly
Annotated subject bibliographies, overviews of legal literature, reviews of commonly used tools, and the inclusion of reference problems unique to corporate law libraries, judicial libraries, and academic collections will keep you up-to-date on the continuously expanding volume of legal materials and their use in legal research. A print copy is also available on the 4th floor of the Law Library at Call No.K 12 .E351.