Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find Illinois-specific materials on particular legal topics, look for a subject heading in the online catalog that includes both the geographic and topical elements. Some suggested examples are:
You also can browse the shelves in the Law Library for print Illinois materials, which are shelved on the 3rd floor in the KFI call number range.
To locate books in libraries outside the Loyola University Chicago System, use the WorldCat database (valid Loyola ID and password required).
For a more detailed guide on Illinois legal research see the Law Library's LibGuide.
IICLE Online Library
The IICLE Online Library is an important database to consult when researching an Illinois legal issue. It consists of publications of the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education (IICLE) that are aimed at legal professionals who need "to the point" discussions of issues and citations to relevant primary authorities. Note that only members of the LUC Law community may access this resource on campus.
IICLE Online Library
IICLE Online Library contains downloadable handbooks, seminar course materials, and QuickGuides. Many IICLE publications include downloadable forms. They are also available in print, in the Law Library's 3rd floor Reference collection, but the print copies cannot be checked out. Online access is available only to current Loyola Law School users and only from on-campus computers.
Illinois General Assembly
The Illinois General Assembly is a bicameral body (House and Senate) that meets in Springfield, IL in two-year sessions, although special sessions may be called. The General Assembly website provides access to bills, Public Acts (bills passed into law), transcripts of debates, videos, and other legislative materials and information.
Illinois General Assembly
State and Local Bar Associations
See this link for a more extensive list:
Structure of the State of Illinois' Legal System
See the following links to learn more about the judicial, legislative, and executive branches in Illinois.
The current State of Illinois Constitution was ratified on December 15, 1970 by special election and has subsequently been amended ten times.
Primary Sources - Quick Links
These are a few free WWW options for finding Illinois primary law. Note that both Westlaw and LexisNexis contain updated Illinois statutes and regulations, as well as case law.
NOTE: On May 31, 2011, the Illinois Supreme Court announced a new citation rule applicable to Illinois case law. The new rule took effect on July 1, 2011. Read more about it here: http://www.state.il.us/court/media/PressRel/2011/053111.pdf.
Illinois Court Opinions
This Illinois Courts page contains links to full-text opinions issued by the Illinois Supreme Court and the Illinois Appellate Court. Look for the "opinions" links in the Quick Links frame to the left of the screen.
Illinois Compiled Statutes
The Illinois General Assembly is Illinois' state legislative body. This portion of its website contains a chapter-by-chapter version of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS), that contain the statutory laws of Illinos. NOTE: Although very convenient to use for research, this is not considered an "official" version of Illinois' statutes.
Illinois Administrative Code
This site, from the Illlinois General Assembly's Joint Committe on Administrative Rules (JCAR), contains the best free representation of the Illinois Administrative Code. The Code contains rules and regulations and other materials issued by Illinois administrative agencies.
Secondary Sources & Practitioner Materials
Secondary sources help you to locate and understand primary authorities. Practitioner materials tend to focus on practical, rather than theoretical legal questions and can help you understand and find primary authorities. Often they include helpful practice forms. A very limited selection of titles is set out here. Check the online catalog for many more. For Illinois periodicals that focus on legal developments, please see the "Legal Periodicals" tab.
Guide to Illinois Statutes of Limitation (2014 ed.) - Albrecht, Adrienne
Available in print (KFI 1290.L5 G83).
As its title suggests, this book gives an overview of limitatons periods under Illinois law.
Illinois Civil Practice Forms (Westlaw)
Also available in print (KFI 1730 .A65 C55).
This collection contains thousands of forms pertinent to all types of civil practice in Illinois. Use them as a starting point for understanding what to include in typical pleadings, motions, and other forms.
Available in print (KFI 1230.5 .L38 1992) and in Lexis.
This legal encyclopedia summarizes select topics (for example, Business Organizations, Family Law, and Torts) in Illinois law.
Illinois Law and Practice
Available in print (KFI 1265 .I4) and in Westlaw.
This legal encyclopedia focuses on Illinois law topics, but with broader coverage than that in Illinois Jurisprudence.
Nichols Illinois Civil Practice, with Forms (Westlaw)
Also available in print (KFI 1730 .N5).
Offers a starting point for drafting filings with Illinois courts, from pleadings to appeals. Topical volumes are also included.
The Illinois Lawyer's Overview: a Guide to Common Practice Areas
Available in the IICLE Online Library and in print (KFI1280 .I45 2012).
This primer for beginning legal practice in Illinois offers overviews of substantive legal topics, along with tips on practical matters, such as communicating with clients.
Illinois Legal Research
This title is the second edition of a descriptive guide on conducting Illinois legal research.
Illinois Court System
See the links below for information on the Illinois courts system. Chicago is located in Cook County, which constitutes the First Judicial District of the Illinois Appellate Court. Cook County is also a single county circuit (Cook County Circuit Court).
Chicago Daily Law Bulletin
The Law Library subscribes to The Chicago Daily Law Bulletin (CDLB), a newspaper published on weekdays that covers Chicago, Illinois, U.S., and some international legal news. The current print issues are shelved on the 3rd floor of the Library. The RSS feed from the CDLB is posted below.
Another local legal publication is Chicago Lawyer. The monthly print issues are also available on the third floor of the Library.
PowerPoint on Researching U.S. and Illinois Law