LibGuides: Global Health Law Research: Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage related to international public health. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.

For free WWW databases related to global health law research, see under the "WWW Resources" tab.

Law Databases

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
The online version of the print resource of the same name (a/k/a "Reynolds and Flores"), which has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Includes an overview of each indexed country's legal system and lists of sources of law (print and online) in both the official language and English (if available).
Global-Regulation.com This link opens in a new window
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 3.5 million statutes and regulations, including over one million translated laws. The site provides links to official, full-text sources, translated into English, from over 100 jurisdictions (including the United States). The internal search engine offers advanced search and analytics capabilities.
Health Practice Center - Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law's Health Practice Center provides access to health law news, case law, statutes, regulations, analysis, and practice tools, as well as access to BNA's Health Law and Business Portfolios, which provide authoritative, in-depth legal analysis and practical guidance from expert legal practitioners. A valid Bloomberg Law ID is required for access.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law provides a high level of analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The encyclopedia articles, modeled on those in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, address a range of topics, defining and covering the basis and foundations of state formation and constitutional law, as well as analyzing and explaining underlying legal concepts.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and The Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law are comprehensive analytical resources that feature peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. Contributors to the Encyclopedias include scholars and practitioners from around the world, and articles are edited by a team from the prestigious Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. Updated quarterly.
A video tutorial on using the Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law is available at https://youtu.be/3JvVyxk32MQ.

Non-Law Databases

In addition to the databases listed below, see the LUC Libraries' electronic research guide for Nursing.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic full-text journals that can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.

Medline
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature.

SSRN

SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Materials may be dowloaded anonymously or with an individual login/password (free).