LibGuides: Law of the Spanish Autonomous Communities: Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of legal developments in Spain. These databases are listed below, and at right. Loyola users will need to submit their user IDs and passwords to gain access to these resources from off campus.

Basque Database

The Basque Database, created by the Jon Bilbao Basque Library at the University of Nevada in Reno, is a multi-disciplinary index to materials about the Basque Country. Coverage starts in 1994.

SSRN

SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Materials may be dowloaded anonymously or with an individual login/password (free).

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The Proquest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.

For open-access dissertations and theses, see:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Portal de Tesis Latinoamericanas

Subscription Databases (Law)

Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Subscription Databases" link.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (Ebsco)
This database offers abstracting of over 200 criminal justice publications, as well as the full texts. Some monographs are also included, and the coverage is international.
Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature.

Global-Regulation.com This link opens in a new window
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 3.5 million statutes and regulations, including over one million translated laws. The site provides links to official, full-text sources, translated into English, from over 100 jurisdictions (including the United States). The internal search engine offers advanced search and analytics capabilities.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
KluwerArbitration
According to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." The source provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials, as well as secondary resources, including the journals Arbitration International and the Journal of International Arbitration.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law provides a high level of analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The encyclopedia articles, modeled on those in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, address a range of topics, defining and covering the basis and foundations of state formation and constitutional law, as well as analyzing and explaining underlying legal concepts.
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and The Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law are comprehensive analytical resources that feature peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. Contributors to the Encyclopedias include scholars and practitioners from around the world, and articles are edited by a team from the prestigious Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. Updated quarterly.
A video tutorial on using the Max Planck Encyclopedias of Public International Law is available at https://youtu.be/3JvVyxk32MQ.

Westlaw
For law school subscribers, in WestlawNext, go to "International Materials" then "International News" then "Europe" then "Spain." Includes El País in English.
World Constitutions Illustrated (via HeinOnline)
Although this database focuses on links to the texts of foreign constitutions (many in English translation), the texts of monographs, relevant law review articles, and historical documents are also included.

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

The following are commercial databases that cover Spain and its autonomous communities.

ABI/Inform Global
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
EconLit
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of Economics. Coverage is international.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals.
Passport GMID
Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers.
Project MUSE
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. The database includes publications that focus on topics related to Iberian Studies.
Women's Studies International
This interdisciplinary database covers major areas within the general topic of Women's Studies, including sociology, history, political science and economics, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodicals are indexed, covering 1972 to present, although no full text is provided.
WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.