LibGuides: State Courts, Statutes and Regulations: Web Resources

About

Resources which are available for free on the World Wide Web.

Web Resources - General

These sites provide links to primary and secondary authority at the state level. Check also under the "Getting Started" tab, for other comprehensive sites.

Justia: US States
Justia provides access to federal and state cases and codes, as well as topical legal materials.
Public Library of Law
Powered by Fastcase, the Public Library of Law contains state cases, codes, and regulations, as well as links to federal materials.

State Courts and Case Law

Information from and about state courts, including links to the websites and online opinions of all 50 states.

National Center for State Courts
A browsable directory of links to courts and related resources. Includes court statistics and research.
Law by Source: State (Legal Information Institute)
The LII collection of state legal materials gathers, state by state, Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and regulations for the fifty states, plus D.C., and the U.S. territories and affiliated jurisdictions.
Google Scholar Legal Opinions and Journals
Google Scholar now includes U.S. Supreme Court opinions since 1791 and U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 in its database. The database also includes U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950. Cases are cited in Bluebook format, include internal page numbers, and are cross-linked within the database. The service also crawls other free case law providers and provides links to cases on these sites.
more...less...
New as of 11/17/2009!

State Statutes

Links to the constitutions, statutes, and legislative history websites of the various states.

State Consitutions, Statutes and Codes
From Cornell's Legal Information Institute, arranged alphabetically.
State statutes arranged by topic
A topical access point to the statutes of the 50 states
Uniform and Model Acts - Drafts and Final Acts
Available through the University of Pennsylvania Law School and the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws.

State Administrative Law (Including tax related sites)

Executive branch primary authority from the 50 states, including links to state revenue offices and secondary information on tax issues.

ABA Administrative Procedure Database Archive
This site was designed to facilitate the exchange of information about federal and state administrative law among legislators, lawyers, hearing officers, judges, and citizens. While much of the original material is now available from other sources, the ABA Administrative Procedure Database Archive provides access to resources not readily available elsewhere.
Taxsites.com - Tax, accounting & payroll directory
A comprehensive set of links to tax related websites at the state and local level.
State Tax Rates & Structures
(From Federation of Tax Administrators) This page is a table of contents for various tables prepared by the Federation of Tax Administrator summarizing state tax structures.
State Administrative Codes
Alphabetical list of states, includes links to online administrative codes and registers.

Municipal Codes

Municode Online Library
Access by jurisdiction to a wide range of U.S. municipal codes
Seattle Public Library - Municipal Codes Online
This page provides links to city and county codes available for unrestricted searching on the World Wide Web.

Subject Guide

Joe Mitzenmacher

Email Me

Contact:

Reference & Electronic Services Librarian
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611

312-915-6844