Treatises, Practice Guides and Form Books - Mergers and Acquisitions - Drafting and Negotiating Documents for Corporate Transactions - LibGuides at Loyola University Chicago Law Library

Treatises and Practice Guides

The following resources are multi-volume "sets" devoted specifically to merger and acquisition documents and transactions. Each provides in depth analysis and guidance for core transactional documents. These multi-volume sets are listed in alphabetical order.

Acquisitions & Mergers: Negotiated & Contested Transactions by Joy Marlene Bryan, Simon M Lorne
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
Publication Date: 2010, updated quarterly
Negotiated and Contested Transactions provides guidance on the handling of the merger or acquisition of a business and its assets, and the structuring of leveraged buyouts, including the impact of federal and state regulations. In addition to expert analysis and guidance from a leader in the industry, you get forms and documents needed to implement that guidance.
Corporate Counsel's Guide to Acquisitions and Divestitures
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
ISBN: 9780929576497
Publication Date: Published in 1999; updated semi-annually
Spanning four volumes and more than 40 chapters, Corporate Counsel's Guide to Acquisitions and Divestitures provides complete coverage of the purchase or sale of divisions and subsidiaries, acquisition of closely held companies, and friendly acquisitions of public companies. Chapters include allocation of risks, closing the deal, contract issues, indemnification, letters of intent, labor and employee relations issues, SEC disclosure rules, international concerns, environmental problems, tax aspects, leveraged buyouts, fraudulent transfers, and intellectual property considerations. Also includes seminar reports, checklists, negotiation strategies, and substantive chapters on key legal points.
Fox & Fox: Corporate Acquisitions and Mergers by Mathew Bender Publishing Staff
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
ISBN: 9780820512914
Publication Date: first published in 1968; updated semiannually
The 32 chapters and 53 appendices that comprise this set provide a thorough, easy-to-use guide to the antitrust, tax, corporate, securities and financial aspects of business combinations with extensive forms, charts and tables.
Mergers And Acquisitions Of Privately Held Companies: Analysis, Forms, and Agreements by Richard D. Harroch et. al.
Call Number: Available online via Bloomberg Law
Publication Date: 2018, updated semiannually
The book includes commentary and analysis as well as examples of all of the important forms and agreements involved in a successful M&A transaction with more than 50 key forms, extensive signing and closing checklists and short- and long-form document request checklists for use in due diligence.
Negotiated Acquisitions of Companies, Subsidiaries and Divisions by Lou R. Kling; Eileen Nugent
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
ISBN: 9781588520562
Publication Date: Updated regularly
This 2000 page treatise is divided into several parts: planning transactions and advising boards; general and special provisions of the acquisitions agreement; and special topics, such as LBOs and troubled companies. You'll find everything from basic corporate, tax and accounting considerations to detailed analysis of representations, warranties, covenants and closing conditions.
Takeovers and Freezeouts by Martin Lipton; Erica H. Steinberger
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
ISBN: 9781588520050
Publication Date: updated regularly
This seven-volume analytical and reference work reflects the current climate for takeover activity and defense. The authors provide extensive documentation on acquisition and defensive techniques, including LBOs, tender offers, mergers, recapitalizations, restructurings, going private transactions, spin-offs and proxy contests.

Form Books

When you search for precedents or template forms in Bloomberg, Lexis, or Westlaw, you will be able to filter your search results to just those resources that the publishers have identified as being 'forms'. Many, if not most, forms are originally published in encyclopedic multi-volume (in print) sets known colloquially as form books. Below are a few of the better-known form books that have template forms for corporate transactions. These sets are listed in alphabetical order.

Business Law: Mergers and Acquisitions by Illinois Institute of Continuing Legal Education
Call Number: KFI 1413 .I455 2023
Publication Date: 2023
This guide to the legal issues that must be addressed anytime there is a sale, a purchase, or a merger of a business. Also included are thorough discussions of the various types of restructuring, the way in which each type functions, the laws that govern them, and caselaw that provides guidance. Insights and practice tips from experienced practitioners are included on topics including preliminary considerations, letters of intent, confidentiality agreements, tax implications and pitfalls, valuation of property, methods of payment, federal and state securities law considerations, sales of assets and stocks, and more.
Current Legal Forms with Tax Analysis by Mathew Bender
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
ISBN: 9780820512402
This thirty-four volume set provides a wealth of sample forms, drafting guidance and expert legal commentary to assist in the fundamental, and often time-consuming, task of document drafting.
Fletcher Corporation Forms, Annotated by Fletcher, William Meade, 1870-1943
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
Publication Date: originally published in 1979; updated as changes in the law dictate
This multivolume set is divided into some 32 categories that cover all aspects of corporate law, such as pre-incorporation contracts; bylaws; organization of corporation; corporate financing; directors and meetings; and consolidations and mergers.
Manual of Corporate Forms for Securities Practice by Jacobs, Arnold S.
Call Number: Available online via Westlaw
ISBN: 0876323026
Publication Date: 2010- updated annually
Volumes 9, 9A, 9B, and 9C of West's Securities Law Series. The set provides information and procedural guidance you to successfully draft a wide range of securities and corporate legal documents. Includes multiple chapters on merger agreements.
Midwest Transaction Guide
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
ISBN: 9781579117023
Publication Date: Originally published in 1980; updtaed twice a year
This 14-volume state-by-state guide to business, wills and trusts, commercial, real estate and personal transactions covers Illinois, Indiana and Michigan. Midwest Transaction Guide summarizes state and federal law, relevant statutes, important regulations and secondary legal sources. The practice guide sections include discussions of current business practices, tips for drafting and reviewing documents, a procedural guide and a rich collection of forms for each state.
Warren's Forms of Agreements by Mathew Bender Publishing
Call Number: Available online via Lexis
Publication Date: updated twice a year
Warren's Forms of Agreements is an 8-volume set consisting of numerous well-defined, well-prefaced forms covering nearly every transaction that an attorney will encounter in a business practice.