LibGuides: Foreign Labor Law Research Guide: Databases

About

The listed law-related databases are also available through the Law Library's Web site. Note that the Bloomberg BNA subscription database is available to the Loyola Law School community only. Lexis and Westlaw require user IDs and passwords. The other resources are available to any users who have a valid Loyola ID and password

Subscription Databases

Bloomberg Law International Labor and Employment Laws
The online version of Bloomberg BNA's treatise (also available in print at K 1705 .I54 2018). Provides country-by-country summaries of labor and employment laws, including analysis and annotations to primary source materials. Each country's information is written by an expert on its labor laws. The online version is current through 2020. A valid Bloomberg Law ID and password are required for access.
Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This database is the online version of the print resource of the same name, which has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Includes an overview of each indexed country's legal system and lists of sources of law (print and online) in both the official language and English (if available).
Getting the Deal Through - Labour and Employment (Bloomberg Law)
In "Getting the Deal Through - Labour and Employment", expert practitioners from 43 countries give guidance on employment laws of their countries. A valid Bloomberg Law ID and password are required for access.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains full-text, scanned images of U.S. (and some foreign) law reviews and journals back to their inception. In many cases coverage continues to the current year. Articles can be printed or downloaded as PDF files. Selected journals devoted to foreign labor law and to international and comparative law generally are included in the "Journals" tab.

International Practitioners Deskbook Series: International Labor and Employment Law, Vol. 1 (Bloomberg Law)
Part of the ABA’s International Practitioner’s Deskbook Series, this handbook covers the labor and employment laws of the major jurisdictions of Europe. Written by contributors who are leading labor lawyers in their jurisdictions, this handbook focuses on practical issues. A valid Bloomberg Law ID and password are required for access.
International Practitioners Deskbook Series: International Labor and Employment Law, Vol. 2 (Bloomberg Law)
Part of the ABA’s International Practitioner’s Deskbook Series, this handbook covers the labor and employment laws of the major jurisdictions outside of Europe. Written by contributors who are leading labor lawyers in their jurisdictions, this handbook focuses on practical issues. A valid Bloomberg Law ID and password are required for access.
KluwerArbitration
Labor disputes are often settled in arbitration, and, according to the publisher, KluwerArbitration is the "world's leading online resource for international commercial arbitration research." This database provides access to an extensive collection of primary materials as well as secondary resources.
World Constitutions Illustrated Library
HeinOnline's World Constitutions Illustrated Library contains the current constitution in its original language format for every country, along with at least one English translation, as well as links to relevant scholarly articles, commentaries, and books about constitutional law.

Doing Business - LexisNexis

LexisNexis publishes "Doing Business" guides for many countries. These guides, which are available in Lexis Advance, are written in English by practitioners who have expertise in the laws of the selected countries. They include practical information and guidance on navigating a country's legal system, and frequently include a section on labor and employment law. A valid Lexis ID and password are required for access.

Doing Business in Canada
Part IV, Chapter 22 covers labor and employment law.
Doing Business in Japan
Chapter 12 ("Social Law") includes material on labor and employment law.
Doing Business in Spain
Chapter 15 covers labor law and social security.
Doing Business in the United Kingdom
Part VII, Chapter 40 covers employment law.
Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in India
Chapter 8 covers employment law.
Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in Indonesia
Chapter 9 covers labor and employment law.

Subject Guide

Joe Mitzenmacher

Email Me

Contact:

Reference & Electronic Services Librarian
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611

312-915-6844

Print Research Guide

Researching Foreign, Comparative, and International Law at the LUC Law Library

Prepared in the summer of 2009, this 22-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library. The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may useful when approaching foreign, comparative and international law questions.