LibGuides: Foreign Labor Law Research Guide: Web Resources

About

Free resources from a variety of Web sites. Of special interest to those who are researching foreign labor law is the ILO's NATLEX database (description at right). Please note that while all of the listed sites are published in English, they frequently link to documents which are not in English.

Free Web Sites

Doing Business - Business Laws Page
Maintained by the World Bank, this site is a free online collection of business laws and regulations, including Labor Laws. Allows searches by region, individual country, or size of economy. Links are to official government sources wherever possible. Caveat - not all linked documents are in English, and translations are not official unless indicated otherwise.
Globalex
A series of pathfinders on international, comparative, and foreign law. Includes links to online sources of law in the indexed nations. Caveat - not all linked pages are in English.
ILOLEX
Includes the texts and ratification information for ILO conventions, as well as comments of the Committee of Experts and the Committee on Freedom of Association, representations, complaints, interpretations, General Surveys, and numerous related documents.
International Comparative Legal Guides - Employment and Labour Law
Part of the International Comparative Legal Guides series, the Employment and Labour Law Guide is written by expert practitioners and provides practical guidance, summarizes relevant statutes and procedural rules, and lists enforcement authorities for 31 countries.
Lex Mundi: Guides to Doing Business
This is a large collection of English-language overviews of conducting business in various foreign jurisdictions. The authors are members of Lex Mundi, a global organization of attorneys representing over 100 countries. Many guides include references to labor and employment laws.
LLRX Comparative and Foreign Law Page
A series of pathfinders that includes links to online sources of law in the indexed nations. Caveat - not all linked pages are in English.
NATLEX
Maintained by the International Labor Organization (ILO), NATLEX is a database of national labor, social security, and human rights legislation. NATLEX provides abstracts and relevant citation information, indexed by keyword and subject. Where possible, the full text of the law or a relevant electronic source is linked. Caveat - NATLEX records and texts are summaries and not intended to replace consultation of the primary source material.
Peace Palace Library
Located in The Hague, the Peace Palace Library serves the International Court of Justice. The Library's website provides access to its online catalogue, as well as bibliographies of materials arranged by country, and then specific law-related topics within that country. Includes links to many cited materials which are available through other sources accessible to the Loyola community (e.g. HeinOnline)
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Several non-profit regional legal information initiatives created and now maintain World LII. The site offers legal subject-based links for individual countries. Click on "All Countries" for an alphabetical list.

Subject Guide

Joe Mitzenmacher

Email Me

Contact:

Reference & Electronic Services Librarian
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611

312-915-6844

Print Research Guide

Researching Foreign, Comparative, and International Law at the LUC Law Library

Prepared in the summer of 2009, this 22-page guide offers instructions and tips on how to research foreign, comparative, and international law at the LUC Law Library. The annotated guide lists print reference sources, subscription databases, free websites, and current awareness sources that may useful when approaching foreign, comparative, and international law questions.