Skip to main content
site header image

Researching Cuban Law : Books

About

To find an item in Loyola's collection that is not listed at right, please use Loyola's online catalog.  Some suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings for titles related to Cuban law are: 

Law--Cuba

Rule of Law--Cuba

Cuba--History

Castro, Fidel, 1927-

Civil Law--Cuba

Human Rights--Cuba

Cuba--Foreign Relations--United States

Elections--Cuba

Judicial Process--Cuba

Justice, Administration of--Cuba

Cuba--Politics and Government

Trade Regulation--Cuba

To locate books in libraries outside the Loyola University Chicago system, use the WorldCat database.  Loyola Chicago Law School patrons should use ILLiad to request materials from non-Loyola libraries. 

LLMC-Digital

LLMC-Digital (Law Library Microform Consortium) is currently digitizing Cuban materials to add to its own database and the Digital Library of the Caribbean (see above).  The content of the initiative, which is called the Cuban Patrimony Project, includes various Cuban constitutions, treatises, and legislation. The Law Library has a subscription to LLMC-Digital

Image result for llmc digital

Legal Spanish

Reference Books

Circulating Books

Spanish/English Law Dictionaries

Bilingual Spanish/English legal dictionaries are located in the 3rd Floor Reference Section in the K52 range.  

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

Digitized Books in Spanish (University of Havana Law School)

The University of Havana's Law School (Universidad de La HabanaFacultad de Derecho) has posted a number of digitized books on its web page. Topics covered include crime and criminology, civil and family law, administrative law, constitutional law, and environmental law. Spanish only.

WWW Book Repositories

There are several Web-based initiatives that serve as online repositories for books:

HathiTrust:  HathiTrust is a partnership of over 50 major research institutions and libraries. Works that are in the public domain contained in the HathiTrust database are available to all researchers. Many search options are offered, including full-text.

Google Books:  Books contained in Google Books come from two sources:  1)  The Library Project and 2)  The Partner Program.  Books included from the partnered Library Project that are no longer in copyright may be viewed in full text, while only snippets of books still in copyright are available.  Only previews of books are available through the Partner Program.

Digital Library of the Caribbean

The  Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a Web-based platform and database for materials related to Caribbean countries.  There is an  ongoing digitization initiative, involving the Cuban National Library (Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí) and the University of Florida, for collections specific to Cuba. 

Image result for dloc digital library