Skip to main content
site header image

Researching Cuban Law : Journals, Newspapers, & Web-Based Media

About

A number of law reviews and academic journals offer coverage of Latin American and Caribbean legal topics.  These titles are listed at right.  To access these publications, you must be on a Loyola campus terminal, or have a valid Loyola user ID and password for remote access.  Note that many law reviews and journals focusing on international law also publish articles on Latin American and Caribbean topics. The texts of international law reviews and journals are available in Westlaw, LexisNexis, and HeinOnline, which are all subscription databases. The subscription database, LegalTrac, provides indexing of many international legal publications.  Please see the "Databases" tab for further information on subscription databases. 

Newspapers

Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching Cuban legal topics.  Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers.  See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers. Factiva includes the full texts of a number of Cuban newspapers and blogs, including Translating Cuba, which is in English. 

Image result for juventud rebelde

Major national newspapers in Cuba  are: Granma, Juventud Rebelde, and Trabajadores.  The first two have English-language websites.  Onlinenewspapers.com maintains a comprehensive list of Cuban newspapers.  There is a Spanish-language index of Granma that covers 1965-1992, available via the LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center) website. 

A historical archive of English and Spanish-language newspapers published in Latin America is also available through the World Newspaper Archive. Diario de la Marina (1899-1909) is the only Cuban newspaper included. 

The "Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876" database includes almost 50 Cuban titles in full text.  

The Latin American Herald Tribune

The Latin American Herald Tribune is an English-language daily that is based in Caracas, Venezuela.  Its website lists daily headlines by country and provides free access to an archive of articles.

Cuban Media

Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy

The Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy (ASCE) is based in Bethesda, Maryland.  According to its website, ASCE's mission "is to study the elements and processes of a transition to a market economy in Cuba and to promote consonant scholarship, research, and publications by its members." ASCE publishes annual proceedings and an occasional paper series that are available on its website. 

Journals

The following academic journals cover topics related to Latin American and Caribbean law, and Cuban law, more specifically.  The database where the full text of the journal is available is listed after the journal title, along with the years covered.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes foreign (including some non-English language) law reviews and journals.  The Index is available in print in the 3rd Floor Reference Section at K33 .I5, as well as online through HeinOnline

 

Latin American "Grey Literature"

LARRP, the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project, is a consortium of research libraries that "seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies."

See its Latin American Open Archives Portal for access to social sciences "grey literature." 

Latin American Law Journals & Serials in U.S. Libraries


The Foreign, Comparative, and International Law Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries (FCIL-SIS) maintains a list of Latin American law journals and other serials held at U.S. libraries. Titles are organized by country, and there is also a general category for Latin America. The majority of items on the list are in Spanish.

SmartCILP

SmartCILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest.  Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals.  Some subject headings related to Cuban law include "Comparative and Foreign Law," "Civil Law," and "Human Rights Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. Please see a reference librarian in the Law Library to sign up. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law.  Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database.  Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases. 

SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network)

SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN).  Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge.  Users need to go through a free registration process in order to create an account.

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant's picture
Julienne Grant
Contact:
Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611
312.915.8520

Blogs

Blogs have become a popular platform for sharing news and opinions about Cuba, particularly for Cuban independent journalists working on the island. Yoani Sánchez is probably the most well-known Cuban dissident blogger, but there are many others. The website of the Cuba Study Group, based in the United States, has a list of Cuba-based blogs. 

Note that Justia's Blawg Search page allows searching across a large collection of law-focused blogs. 

Cuban Law Journals and Bulletins

There are a number of Cuban legal publications available through the University of Havana's Law School web page.  These are:

Revista Cubana de Derecho (2008-2015) (indexed in the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals)

Justicia y Derecho (2003-2013) 

Cubalex (2012-2015) 

Boletín del Tribunal Supremo (1997-2013) 

The Ministry of Justice (MINJUS) publishes the Revista Jurídica. Issues from 2009-2013 are available on MINJUS' website

 

 

Cubadebate

The Cubadebate website is maintained by the Circle of Cuban Journalists Against Terrorism (Círcolo de Periodistas Cubanos Contra Terorismo). The goal of the site is to provide an exchange for information on what the organization deems to be subversive and defamatory campaigns against Cuba, but the site is a useful source of news and opinion pieces.  Cubadebate translates some of its content into English.  

Web-Based Publications in English

Web-Based Publications in Spanish (Non-Cuban)