Skip to Main Content
site header image

Summer Associate Research Guide: Where to Start Chart

This guide is intended for students who will be working at law firms over the summer. It is similar and related to the Experiential Learning Resources Guide which focuses more on externships and clerkships.

Do You Have Enough Information?

Are you unsure where to start because you do not have enough information?

If you do not have a case, statute, or regulation to help you start your research, generally, the best approach is to look at secondary sources on your topic.  Secondary sources discuss the law and give citations to relevant cases, statutes, and regulations.  Reviewing secondary sources will give you background to help you with search terms and will give you citations to the law to start your search.  For more instructions on secondary sources, see the Secondary Sources Research Guide.  For further guidance on researching an unfamiliar area of law, see Researching an Unfamiliar Area of Law. 

In addition to secondary sources, the tips below provide other helpful information on where to start if you are looking for:

Are You Looking for Cases?

There are a number of ways to search for cases depending on the information you already have.  You most likely will have to try several methods to find the best cases and all the relevant cases. 

If you are starting with another case, see questions 1, 2, and 3.  Otherwise, review the list for possible options. 

No.

Research question

Tips on where to start your research

1

Find a case that follows or cites favorably to a case you already have

The best place to start is a citator.  The three citators are Westlaw’s Keycite, Lexis’s Shepard’s, and Bloomberg Law’s BCite.  To use the citator, first enter the citation for the case you already have.  The citator will tell you what cases cite to it or follow it.  For more instructions on using citators, see “Using Citators” under the Case Law Research Guide.

2

Find a case that criticizes or distinguishes a case you already have

The best place to start is a citator.  The three citators are Westlaw’s Keycite, Lexis’s Shepard’s, and Bloomberg Law’s BCite.  To use the citator, first enter the citation for the case you already have.  The citator will tell you what cases criticize or distinguish it.  For more instructions on using citators, see “Using Citators” under the Case Law Research Guide.

3

Find a case that discusses the same topic as a headnote in a case you already have

If you are looking for cases that cite your case on the topic in the headnote, see Questions 1 and 2 above about citators.  If you are looking for cases that discuss the topic in general, regardless of whether they cite your case, use the topical organization system in Westlaw, Lexis, or Bloomberg.  In Westlaw, use the Key Number System (see Question 6 below for more information on the Key Number System).  In Lexis, click on the topic of interest.  In Bloomberg Law, use the topic number. 

4

Find a case that interprets a statutory section

The best place to start is the annotations for that statutory section in Westlaw or Lexis.  First, open the statutory section using the citation.  Then, in Westlaw, look under the “Notes of Decisions” tab for cases on your topic.  In Lexis, look under “Notes to Decisions.” 

5

Find a case that interprets a regulation

The best place to start is the annotations for that regulation in Westlaw or Lexis.  First, open the regulatory section using the citation.  Then, in Westlaw, look under the “Notes of Decisions” tab for cases on your topic.  In Lexis, under "Notes to Decisions."   

6

Find a case by Key Number, e.g. 291k421

Key Numbers are only in Westlaw.  Key numbers represent a topic of law, which you can use to find cases on that topic. 

If you have a Key Number, look it up in the Key Number System, under the “All Content” tab.  You will get a list of cases on that topic of law, which you can narrow by jurisdiction.

If you have a case with a headnote with a relevant Key Number, click on the Key Number to get more cases on the topic.

If you do not have a Key Number, you can either browse or search the Key Number System by topic to find Key Numbers on your topic.  You can then use that Key Number to find cases on your topic.

For more instructions on using Westlaw’s Key Number system, see “About the West Key Number System” under the Case Law Research Guide.

7

Find a case when starting from scratch (i.e. when you do not have another case, statute, regulation, or Key Number to start)

Generally, the best place to start is with a secondary source on the topic.  This will give you background to help you with search terms and will likely give you some cases to start your search.  For more instructions on secondary sources, see the Secondary Sources Research Guide.

8

Find a particular judge’s decisions

The best approach is to go to a case database in Westlaw, Lexis, or Bloomberg Law, narrow by the jurisdiction where the judge serves, and search the judge’s name in the judge field or filter by the judge’s name.

9

Find a docket for a particular case

The best approach is to search in Bloomberg Law’s docket database, under "Popular Links," click on "Dockets." Not all dockets are online, but you generally can find federal court dockets. 

Are You Looking for Statutes or Legislative History?

No.

Research question

Tips on where to start your research

1

Find a federal statute on a particular topic

The United States Code contains the current federal statutes.  Often, the best approach is to use an index.  Westlaw has an online index.  You also can search and browse the USC on Westlaw (USCA), Lexis (USCS), and Bloomberg Law.  You can find free versions at the Office of the Law Revision Counsel or Legal Information Institute.  The library also has print versions of the USC, with indexes and annotations.

2

Find a federal statute when you have the popular name of the statute, e.g. Patriot Act

The best place to start is the Popular Name Table for the United States Code.  This is available on Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law.  You can find free versions at the Office of the Law Revision Counsel or Legal Information Institute.  

3

Find legislative history for a federal statute

For more information on finding federal legislative history, see the Legislative History Guide.

4

Find an Illinois statute on a particular topic

The Illinois Compiled Statutes contains the current Illinois statutes.  Often the best approach is to use an index.  Westlaw has an online index.  You also can search and browse the ILCS on Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law.  There is a free “unofficial” version at the Illinois General Assembly website.  The library also has print versions, with indexes and annotations.

5

Find an Illinois statute when you have the popular name of the statute, e.g. River Boat Gambling Act

The best place to start is the Illinois Statutes Popular Name Table, available online on Westlaw.  The library also has print versions.

6

Find legislative history for an Illinois statute

For more information on finding Illinois legislative history, see the Illinois Legislative History Guide. 

Are You Looking for Administrative Law or Regulations?

No.

Research question

Tips on where to start your research

1

Find a federal regulation on a particular topic

The Code of Federal Regulations contains the current federal regulations.  Often, the best approach is to use an index.  Westlaw and Lexis have an online index.  You also can search and browse the CFR on Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law.  You can find a free updated version from the government at eCFR.  

2

Find an Illinois regulation on a particular topic

The Illinois Administrative Code contains the current Illinois regulations.  You can search and browse the Illinois Administrative Code on Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law.   There is a free “unofficial” version at the Illinois General Assembly website.  The library has a print version of Weil’s Code of Illinois Rules, an unofficial compilation of the Illinois Administrative Code, with an index.

Are You Looking for Litigation Forms or Samples?

If you are looking for litigation forms or samples, such as complaints or briefs, the best option is to use forms or samples from the law office where you work.  In most cases, your law office has already filed that type of document.  If you cannot use a form or sample from your office, or need to supplement it, try using the following table to find forms or samples. For more information on locating model forms, see the Locating Model Forms and Sample Documents for Drafting page.

No.

Form or Sample

Tips on where to start your research

1

Find litigation forms

Westlaw:  Under the “Content Types” tab, select “Forms.”  You can select jurisdiction, subject, or secondary source.  Many secondary sources have forms, usually in appendices. Alternatively, next to "Get Started," click on "Practical Law" for practice documents, including forms, organized by topic.
Lexis:  Under the “Content” tab, see “Sample Forms.”  Also, there is a specific link for “Jury Instructions,” if you are looking for those.  You can select jurisdiction or practice area. Alternatively, click on "Practical Guidance" on the left for practice documents, including forms, organized by topic.
Bloomberg Law:  Under the "Litigation" tab, click on "Litigation Practical Guidance." 

2

Find litigation samples

Westlaw:  Under the “Content Types” tab, try searching in “Briefs” or “Trial Court Documents” or you can try searching in “Dockets,” but access to documents may be restricted.
Lexis:  Under the “Content” tab, search in “Briefs, Pleadings and Motions.”  You can narrow further by type of document, jurisdiction, or practice area.
Bloomberg Law:  Under the “Popular Links,” try searching in “Dockets.”

3

Find Jury Instructions

Lexis:  Under the “Content” tab, search in “Jury Instructions,” where you can further select by federal or state, practice area, and model or pattern instructions.
Westlaw:  Type “jury instructions” in search box, then, in the drop-down menu under “Content Pages,” select “Jury Instructions.”
Bloomberg Law:  Under the “Litigation & Dockets” tab, look in “Litigation Resources.”  There is a search box for searching jury instructions by federal and state court. 

Subject Guide

Subject Guide