There are a number of journals that focus on IEL, environmental law in general, and various subtopics. For a list of these journals (available in English), see the list compiled by the Centre for Environmental Law and Global Sustainability at the University of Ottawa. Many of these publications are available in full text in HeinOnline.
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) indexes over 500 legal journals published worldwide. According to the source description, IFLP "provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions." IFLP is available online through LUC's subscription to HeinOnline. Links to full-text articles, if available in HeinOnline, are included.
CILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest. Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP). Some subject headings related to IEL include "International Law," "Comparative and Foreign Law," "Natural Resources Law," and "Environmental Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. A list of periodicals indexed in CILP is available here.
These indexes and databases provide author, subject, and title access to the vast array of published and online legal scholarship. Both Westlaw and Lexis also offer access to law journal databases, including some foreign law reviews. In Westlaw, you can limit your searches to secondary sources that focus on environmental law. Choose "Energy & Environment" from the list of "Practice Areas," then go to "Secondary Sources." In Lexis, you can choose "Environmental Law" under "Practice Area," then "All Environmental Law Reviews and Journals."
SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Set up a free account in order to access all content.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.
