LibGuides: International Environmental Law: Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that offer coverage of international and foreign topics and several that focus exclusively on environmental sciences. These databases are listed below and at right.

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases by topic, see the LUC Libraries page. For databases specific to environmental sciences, see the LibGuide prepared for Loyola's Institute on Environmental Studies. Listed below are LUC subscription databases with relevance to IEL.

ABI/Inform Global
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
Agricola
Contains materials on agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.
Business Source Complete
This is a database of business and financial literature that includes the full texts of more than 2,200 journals. The database also includes company and country profiles.
EconLit
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of economics. Coverage is international.
GreenFILE
This bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
This H.W. Wilson database indexes articles in the humanities and social sciences for 1907-1984. Coverage is international.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. Coverage is international.
Medline
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature.
Project MUSE
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. Coverage is international.
SCOPUS
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Sociological Abstracts
This database with international coverage provides citations to scholarly literature in sociology and related disciplines, including criminology and law.
Web of Science
A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.
Women's Studies International
This interdisciplinary database covers major areas within the general topic of women's studies, including sociology, history, political science and economics, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. Over 2,000 periodicals are indexed, covering 1972 to present, although no full text is provided.
WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
This database offers citations, abstracts, and indexing of political science literature, and related fields. Coverage is international.

Subscription Databases (Law)

Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Databases A-Z" link.

Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law includes subscriptions to the full set of Bloomberg BNA newsletters, many of which have international coverage. For environmental law, see the "Environment & Energy Report."

Edward Elgar Environmental Law Essentials Collection This link opens in a new window
Edward Elgar is a leading publisher of research and scholarship in environmental law. The Edward Elgar Environmental Law Essentials Collection provides online access to Elgar’s top 50 environmental law e-book titles, focusing on a range of issues and topics including: climate change, renewable energy, international agreements, water law, human rights, and food security.

Foreign & International Law Resources Database (HeinOnline)
HeinOnline's Foreign & International Law Resources Database (FILRD) contains approximately 675 volumes related to international law. Contents include: yearbooks, periodicals, U.S. law digests (pertaining to international law), international tribunal reports and decisions, and other works related to international law. Some materials date back to the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdctions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature. See the subtopic of "Environment & Natural Resources" within each country heading.
Global-Regulation.com
Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows searching (in English) of the full texts of over one million statutes and regulations, with links to official, full-text sources from over 90 jurisdictions (including the United States). Machine translations of foreign documents are used.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 This link opens in a new window
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
International Trade Practice Center - Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law's International Trade Practice Center provides guidance on developments affecting U.S. trade and international business. The International Trade Practice Center includes access to relevant news; case law; statutes and administrative law materials; treatises, analysis, and practitioner tools, including BNA Portfolios and Manuals. A valid Bloomberg Law ID is required for access.

Investor-State LawGuide
The Investor-State LawGuide database is a one-stop resource for international investment law research. It provides access to treaties, arbitration rules, decisions and awards, and other related documents. In addition to full-text search capability, Investor-State LawGuide's research tools include: the Subject Navigator; the Article Citator (which shows how specific legal instruments relevant to international investment law have been interpreted by tribunals); the Jurisprudence Citator (which shows how specific decisions have been treated by subsequent investment treaty tribunals); and Terms & Phrases searching (which enables you to look for the meaning of terms and phrases that have been defined in treaties and rules or by arbitration tribunals). Click on "Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.

Law360 This link opens in a new window
Law360 is a popular legal news and current awareness resource covering over 60 different practice areas. Our Law360 subscription allows users to receive daily newsletter alerts on legal topics of their choosing. Law360 is available from any on-campus computer, or from off campus with proxy authentication (current Loyola Law ID and password). For use by current students, faculty, and staff of Loyola University Chicago's School of Law only. Content on environmental law is available by clicking on "See all 61 Sections," and then "Environmental."

LexisNexis
In LexisAdvance, go to the "International" tab, and then select individual countries.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law provides a high level of analytic coverage of constitutional law topics in a comparative context. The encyclopedia articles, modeled on those in the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, address a range of topics, defining and covering the basis and foundations of state formation and constitutional law, as well as analyzing and explaining underlying legal concepts.

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law are one of the most authoritative resources in the field. Contributors to the Encyclopedias include scholars and practitioners from around the world, and articles are edited by a team from the prestigious Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. There are over 200 entries under the general heading of "International Environmental Law."

Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
The online version of Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index is a finding aid designed to direct researchers to sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. The database component of this title is updated three times a year and is searchable by title, publisher, subject, or jurisdiction.
Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law provides original, high-level analysis of European Union law by specialized distinguished contributors. Articles from this encyclopedia address a focused range of subjects that seek to provide the best coverage of the essence, character, development, and history of European Union law.
Practising Law Institute - PLI PLUS This link opens in a new window
PLI PLUS is an ebook platform that provides access to treatises, course handbooks, and answer books on a variety of topics from the Practising Law Institute (PLI), a highly-respected non-profit continuing legal education organization. You can search the collection by keyword, book or chapter title, author, or subject. You can even create a free PLI account (using your LUC email address) to save favorite titles and to highlight and annotate content.
TradeLawGuide This link opens in a new window
TradeLawGuide is a comprehensive World Trade Organization law database that allows users to search across PDF files of official awards, decisions, and other WTO documents. TradeLawGuide also ‘notes up’ WTO decisions by tracking how subsequent WTO reports, awards and decisions have considered specific passages in WTO jurisprudence. The database features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. TradeLawGuide also offers treaty interpretation and other tools. Click on “Subscriber Login” in the upper-right corner of the welcome screen to access the database.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
See the "Energy & Environment" link under the "Practice Areas" tab.

Newspapers

Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching international and foreign-related legal topics. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S., international, and foreign newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.

World Constitutions Illustrated

World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline)

Hein's "World Constitutions Illustrated" database includes a collection of documents, historical texts, and commentary related to foreign constitutions, organized by country. The database also includes many current English translations of foreign constitutions. Access for LUC patrons only.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The Proquest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.

For open-access dissertations and theses, see:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Portal de Tesis Latinoamericanas

Theses Canada

GoogleScholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available in full text through a Loyola database. From off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.