Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are numerous free websites that can assist with research related to IEL. Also note the entries under "Legal Blogs" and "Current Awareness" for electronic monitoring of IEL developments around the world.
Legal Blogs ("Blawgs") and Current Awareness
This is an online repository of constitutions in English, or English-language translation. Developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project, the site allows for comparison of passages from selected documents, as well as keyword searching.
The purpose of this website, jointly administered by several international organizations (FAO, IUCN, and UNEP) is to provide the "most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law." The site includes a database of national environmental legislation.
Guide to Law Online: Nations
This is a set of annotated web guides to locating and researching national law, organized alphabetically by country. The Law Library of Congress maintains the site.
Lex Mundi: Guides to Doing Business
This is a large collection of English-language overviews of conducting business in various foreign jurisdictions. The authors are members of Lex Mundi, a global organization of attorneys representing over 100 countries. Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, and Honduras are some of the Latin American countries featured in the collection.
Peace Palace Library
Located in The Hague, the Peace Palace Library serves the International Court of Justice and has been collecting international legal materials since 1913. The Library's website provides access to its online catalogue, as well as numerous international research guides. See, specifically, the guides on Environment, Water, and Polar Regions,
Refword is an international database, organized by country, and maintained by the United Nations High Commmission on Human Rights (UNHCR). The database contains a collection of reports and policy documents relating to refugee status and human rights issues. Allows keyword searching.
World Bank: Doing Business
This page provides access to current "Doing Business" English-language guides for over 180 countries, based on annual World Bank surveys. Each guide provides detailed information on starting a business, dealing with permits, hiring workers, etc., in the specific locale.
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Several non-profit regional legal information initiatives created and now maintain World LII. The site offers legal subject-based links for individual countries. Click on "All Countries" for an alphabetical list.
This is a searchable database of decisions from various international and regional tribunals.