There are numerous free websites that can assist with research related to IEL. Also note the entries under "Legal Blogs" and "Current Awareness" for electronic monitoring of IEL developments around the world.
Scroll down to "Countries" list.
A 2024 report from the Law Library of Congress.
Hosted by the by the Grantham Research Institute at the London School of Economics, Climate Change Laws of the World includes national-level climate change legislation and policies. The database covers climate and climate-related laws, as well as laws and policies promoting low carbon transitions, which reflects the relevance of climate policy in areas including energy, transport, land use, and climate resilience.
This is an online repository of constitutions in English, or English-language translation. Developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project, the site allows for comparison of passages from selected documents, as well as keyword searching.
The purpose of this website, jointly administered by several international organizations (FAO, IUCN, and UNEP) is to provide the "most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law." The site includes a database of national environmental legislation.
This is a set of annotated web guides to locating and researching national law, organized alphabetically by country. The Law Library of Congress maintains the site.
In this research study from the Law Library of Congress, you can see which countries have enacted or proposed net zero emissions legislation, what are the legislatively established target dates, and how the legislation changed during the previous year.
The entry provides a list of "the most important" environmental laws listed alphabetically by country within continents. Last updated in November 2020.
The Oxford Net Zero initiative addresses the critical issue of how to reach global 'net zero.' This initiative aims to transform policies and practices along with the world's leading transnational research initiative to collaboratively achieve net zero emissions and sustainable development.
This is a large collection of English-language offers essential practice and industry information that legal and business professionals require as they embark on creating effective global strategies. Some topics include, but are not limited to, climate change, business, and sustainability.
Located in The Hague, the Peace Palace Library serves the International Court of Justice and has been collecting international legal materials since 1913. The Library's website provides access to its online catalogue, as well as numerous international research guides. See, specifically, the guides on Environment, Water, and Polar Regions,
Refword is an international database, organized by country, and maintained by the United Nations High Commmission on Human Rights (UNHCR). The database contains a collection of reports and policy documents relating to refugee status and human rights issues. Allows keyword searching.
This page provides access to current "Doing Business" English-language guides for over 180 countries, based on annual World Bank surveys. Each guide provides detailed information on starting a business, dealing with permits, hiring workers, etc., in the specific locale.
Several non-profit regional legal information initiatives created and now maintain World LII. The site offers legal subject-based links for individual countries. Click on "All Countries" for an alphabetical list.
This is a searchable database of decisions from various international and regional tribunals.
