LibGuides: Environmental Law (United States): Databases

About

The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that focus exclusively on environmental sciences and/or environmental law topics. These databases are listed below and at right.

Subscription Databases (Non-Law)

For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases by topic, see the LUC Libraries page. For a full list of databases specific to environmental sciences, see the LibGuide prepared for Loyola's School of Environmental Sustainability. Listed below are LUC subscription databases that are relevant to environmental law research.

ABI/Inform Global
International in scope, ABI/Inform Global is a searchable database of business journals, online business news, and financial newspapers. The database currently covers over 3,000 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text.
Academic Search Complete
This is a popular interdiscliplinary database that indexes over 8,000 publications--the majority of which are available in full text.
Agricola
Contains materials on agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.
Business Source Complete
This is a database of business and financial literature that includes the full texts of more than 2,200 journals. The database also includes company and country profiles.
EconLit
EconLit is a database of journals, books, and working papers in the field of economics. Coverage is international.
GreenFILE
This bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
This H.W. Wilson database indexes articles in the humanities and social sciences for 1907-1984. Coverage is international.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a popular interdisciplinary database with scanned images of academic journals. Coverage is international.
Medline
Medline is a large database (1950-forward) with international coverage of medical literature.
Project MUSE
Project Muse is an interdisciplinary database of over 200 full-text academic journals. Coverage is international.
SCOPUS
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.

Subscription Databases (Law)

Most of the law-related databases listed below are available through the Law Library's website via the "Databases A-Z" link.

Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law includes subscriptions to the full set of Bloomberg BNA newsletters, many of which have international coverage. For environmental law, see the "Environment & Energy Report."

Edward Elgar Environmental Law Essentials Collection
Edward Elgar is a leading publisher of research and scholarship in environmental law. The Edward Elgar Environmental Law Essentials Collection provides online access to Elgar’s top 50 environmental law e-book titles, focusing on a range of issues and topics including: climate change, renewable energy, international agreements, water law, human rights, and food security.

Elements of Illinois Law: Environmental Law 2023 Edition
IICLE publication. Also available in print (KFI 1554 .E54 2020). Online access is only available to members of the Loyola Chicago Law School community via the Law Library's IICLE Online Library subscription. Current Loyola Law students can register for free IICLE online access (and for other IICLE benefits) by going to the IICLE Law Student Resource Kit page (https://www.iicle.com/student) and creating an account (with a valid Loyola Law e-mail address).

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a searchable full-text, image-based collection of retrospective legal materials divided into distinct "libraries," which include the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Legal Classics Library, and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages, and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective provides citations to articles from over 750 law journals, legal newspapers, and bar association journals, covering the years 1908 through 1981. Full text is not included, but once you have ascertained the citations for articles relevant to your research, you can search for the full text in another database, such as HeinOnline's Law Journal Library, or in print.
Law360
Law360 is a popular legal news and current awareness resource covering over 60 different practice areas, including environmental law. Our Law360 subscription allows users to receive daily newsletter alerts on legal topics of their choosing. Law360 is available from any on-campus computer, or from off campus with proxy authentication (current Loyola Law ID and password). For use by current students, faculty, and staff of Loyola University Chicago's School of Law only.

LexisNexis
In Lexis+, go to "Practice Area" then "Environmental Law." Subscription required.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is one of the most authoritative resources in its field. Contributors to the Encyclopedia include scholars and practitioners from around the world, and articles are edited by a team from the prestigious Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. There are over 200 entries under the general heading of "International Environmental Law."

Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index - HeinOnline
The online version of Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index is a finding aid designed to direct researchers to sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. The database component of this title is updated three times a year and is searchable by title, publisher, subject, or jurisdiction.
Practising Law Institute - PLI PLUS
PLI PLUS is an ebook platform that provides access to treatises, course handbooks, and answer books on a variety of topics from the Practising Law Institute (PLI), a highly-respected non-profit continuing legal education organization. You can search the collection by keyword, book or chapter title, author, or subject. You can even create a free PLI account (using your LUC email address) to save favorite titles and to highlight and annotate content.
Water Rights & Resources - HeinOnline
HeinOnline's Water Rights & Resources collection focuses on legal issues surrounding access to and the delivery of water. The collection is focused on the various uses for water, from hydropower, to agriculture, to drinking water, and how increasing pressures on water supply from climate change exacerbates historical tensions over who has access to water for what purposes. It also includes documents on the effects of the Clean Water Act within this framework.
Through government documents, reports, and legislative histories, as well as books, scholarly articles, and other sources (all documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files), this collection examines the many legal issues surrounding society's collective, vested interest in access to water.
Westlaw
In Westlaw Edge, go to "Practice Areas," then "Energy & Environment." Subscription required.

Subject Guide

Julienne Grant

Email Me

Contact:

Loyola University School of Law Library
Philip H. Corboy Law Center
25 E. Pearson St.
Chicago, IL 60611

312.915.8520

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)

Often overlooked by academic legal researchers, dissertations and theses contain exhaustive research and extensive bibliographies. The Proquest Dissertations & Theses database currently includes citations to over two million dissertations and theses from 1861 forward, and full-text access to over one million of these citations. The database's coverage is global, with numerous law-related papers available to download in PDF format. Searches may be conducted in various fields, such as title, author, citation and abstract, and degree awarded.

For open-access dissertations and theses, see:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Portal de Tesis Latinoamericanas

Theses Canada

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available in full text through a Loyola database. From off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.