Skip to Main Content
site header image

Federal Native American and Tribal Law: Web Resources

Land Acknowledge Statement--Loyola University Chicago

The Loyola University Chicago community acknowledges its location on the ancestral homelands of the Council of the Three Fires (the Ojibwa, Ottawa, and Potawatomi tribes) and a place of trade with other tribes, including the Ho-Chunk, Miami, Menominee, Sauk, and Meskwaki. We recognize that descendants of these and other North American tribes continue to live and work on this land with us. We recognize the tragic legacy of colonization, genocide, and oppression that still impacts Native American lives today. As a Jesuit university, we affirm our commitment to issues of social responsibility and justice. We further recognize our responsibility to understand, teach, and respect the past and present realities of local Native Americans and their continued connection to this land.


There are numerous free websites that can assist with research related to the federal law of Native Americans.  Also note the entries under "Legal Blogs ('Blawgs') and "Current Awareness" for electronic monitoring of legal developments in this area.


Primary Law