The Loyola University Chicago community acknowledges its location on the ancestral homelands of the Council of the Three Fires (the Ojibwa, Ottawa, and Potawatomi tribes) and a place of trade with other tribes, including the Ho-Chunk, Miami, Menominee, Sauk, and Meskwaki. We recognize that descendants of these and other North American tribes continue to live and work on this land with us. We recognize the tragic legacy of colonization, genocide, and oppression that still impacts Native American lives today. As a Jesuit university, we affirm our commitment to issues of social responsibility and justice. We further recognize our responsibility to understand, teach, and respect the past and present realities of local Native Americans and their continued connection to this land.
The Loyola Law Library and the Loyola Libraries system subscribe to a number of commercial databases that cover topics related to Native American law. These databases are listed below and at right.
For a complete list of interdisciplinary databases by topic, see the LUC Libraries page. Listed below are LUC subscription databases that are relevant to Native American law research.
Access to the databases listed below is provided by the Law Library. These databases are also available from the Law Library's A-Z Databases Page.
Edward Elgar is a leading publisher of research and scholarship in environmental law. The Edward Elgar Environmental Law Essentials Collection provides online access to Elgar’s top 50 environmental law e-book titles, focusing on a range of issues and topics including: climate change, renewable energy, international agreements, water law, human rights, and food security.
Newspapers may be extremely helpful when researching legal topics related to Native Americans. Westlaw and LexisNexis both have good coverage of U.S. newspapers. See also the subscription Access World News and Factiva databases for full-text access to newspapers.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available in full text through a Loyola database. From off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.
