The Loyola University Chicago community acknowledges its location on the ancestral homelands of the Council of the Three Fires (the Ojibwa, Ottawa, and Potawatomi tribes) and a place of trade with other tribes, including the Ho-Chunk, Miami, Menominee, Sauk, and Meskwaki. We recognize that descendants of these and other North American tribes continue to live and work on this land with us. We recognize the tragic legacy of colonization, genocide, and oppression that still impacts Native American lives today. As a Jesuit university, we affirm our commitment to issues of social responsibility and justice. We further recognize our responsibility to understand, teach, and respect the past and present realities of local Native Americans and their continued connection to this land.
There are a number of journals that focus on Federal Indian Law and its various subtopics. Many of these publications are available in full text in HeinOnline. Examples of open-access journals on this topic are the following:
American Indian Law Review (University of Oklahoma College of Law).
American Indian Law Journal (University of Seattle School of Law).
CILP is a fee-based legal bibliographic service that allows users to set up a profile, based on areas of interest. Each week, users receive a list of new articles in law reviews and journals that pertain to their profile from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP). Some subject headings related to Native American Law include "Natural Resources Law" and "Indigenous Law." This service is available only to Loyola Law School faculty, staff, and students. A list of periodicals indexed in CILP is available here.
These indexes and databases provide author, subject, and title access to the vast array of published and online legal scholarship. Both Westlaw and Lexis also offer access to law journal databases. In Westlaw, you can limit your searches to secondary sources that focus on Federal Indian Law. Choose "Native American Law" from the list of "Practice Areas," then go to "Secondary Sources." In Lexis, you can choose "Native American Law" under "Practice Area," and then "Secondary Materials."
SSRN is an electronic repository for international social sciences scholarship that includes the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN). Thousands of downloadable abstracts, working papers, and published papers are available without charge. Set up a free account in order to access all content.
Google Scholar provides a search mechanism to locate scholarly literature across multiple disciplines, including law. Search results on campus will indicate whether the source is available full text through a Loyola database. Off campus, users may go to the "Settings" link and then "Library Links" to set up results that show links to LUC full-text databases.
