Social Justice Resources Guide: Databases

Gale's American Civil Liberties Union Papers: Southern Regional Office collection documents the ACLU’s legal battle to enforce the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in thirteen southern states. Materials in the collection include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records.

HeinOnline's Brennan Center for Justice Publications Collection includes more than 210 titles from The Brennan Center for Justice, a nonpartisan law and policy institute that seeks to improve the systems of democracy and justice in the United States. The Center's work focuses on a wide range of issues, such as voting rights, campaign finance reform, racial justice in criminal law, and Constitutional protection in the fight against terrorism. Its law and policy scholarship addresses many issues, is largely written by attorneys, and is extensively peer-reviewed by scholars and legal practitioners. Documents can printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice collection brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States. This collection contains hearings and committee prints, legislative histories for landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, allowing users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

This HeinOnline collection provides access to periodicals, compiled federal legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles, books, and other related materials on the topic of regulating firearms in the United States. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Rights collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for its broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. In this HeinOnline collection, you can find their reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. This collection also includes many modern histories of slavery, as well as a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that HeinOnline editors continue to locate and add to the collection. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.

Women and the Law is a collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to women's roles in society and the law, providing a platform to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Documents can be viewed as high quality scanned images of the original print pages and can be printed or downloaded and saved as PDF files.