Docket Reseach: Finding Dockets Using Westlaw

After signing in to Westlaw, click on "Content Types" and then "Dockets." 

* You can streamline this by clicking "Add To Favorites" when you arrive at the docket search interface. Y

Creating an automated docket search alert is not available on Westlaw, but you can create search alerts for trial court documents, you can view the most recent trial court orders by state or topic, and you can view newly filed civil complaints using Court Wire Alerts Archive.

You will find "Court Wire Alerts Archive" on the right side of the docket search interface, under "Docket Resources." New case reports will generally post the same day and include a synopsis of the allegations made in the complaint and a PDF copy of the complaint. Coverage information is included in the dockets coverage map (in the coverage table you will find a "Court Wire" column").

You will find "Trial Court Orders" and "Trial Court Documents" below "Court Wire Alerts Archive." If you choose "Trial Court Orders" you will be asked to choose a jurisdiction or topic and the results list will include the 10 most recent court orders available. If you choose "Trial Court Documents" you will be asked to choose either the type of document (motions, pleadings, jury instruction filings, exhibits, or interrogatories) or a jurisdiction. From there, you will arrive at a search page. Once you have entered your search terms and hit enter, you will see a result list and a filtering menu.  This is where you will find the option to create a search alert. 

Westlaw publishes a docket coverage map and a coverage status page. Both can be found under "Dockets Resources" on the right side of the docket search interface. You can use the docket coverage map to determine, in advance, if Westlaw will have access to the jurisdiction from which you wish to retrieve a docket and what information will be available (such as criminal v. civil dockets, Docket PDFs, etc.).  You can use the coverage status page to see if coverage has been interrupted and when coverage might resume. 

You can start by choosing a preferred jurisdiction and entering search terms in the search box or, if you would like to search with greater precision and see a list of connectors and expanders that may assist you in searching, click on "Advanced" (you will find this on the right hand side of the search box, next to the orange box) and enter your search terms in the appropriate boxes. You can also search by case number by choosing "Find by Case Number" under "Dockets Resources" on the right side of the docket search interface. 

Then, filter your results using the menu on the left side of the results screen. You can select a jurisdiction from the general search page (prior to selecting "Advanced") or you can use the filter menu. Other options include searching within your results, or finding cases by Judge, Attorney, or Law Firm name.  So, for instance, if you wanted to see all bankruptcy cases in which attorney "Jane Doe" makes an appearance, you can search "bankruptcy" in your preferred jurisdiction, choose "Bankruptcy" under "Key Nature of Suit" and then type "Doe" into the search box under "Attorney" and choose the correct attorney from the names that will appear.