The Bluebook requires you to cite to statute current in force to the official code, if applicable and available.
However, not all official codes are print versions. In fact, many states official codes are no longer published in print.
This subsection of "Statutes" explains the instances in which The Bluebook allows you to cite the online version of the official code that is no longer published in print.
For states that publish their official statute only online, Rule 12.5(b) allows you to cite directly to the online source.
However, it is important to note that just because a state legislature or other state government entity makes their statutory code accessible online, it does not mean the online version is official for the purpose of citation. (e.g., Illinois)
The elements for these citation types are the same as the print version, except instead of the year the citation provides the URL to the online statute.
Here is an example for court documents:
110 Ill. Comp. Stat. 61/5 https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3508&ChapterID=18
Here is the same example, but for law review article footnotes:
110 Ill. Comp. Stat. 61/5 https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3508&ChapterID=18
Although The Bluebook recommends (and prefers) statute citations come from current official codes, Rule 12.5 provides formatting and rules for citing statutory codes on electronic databases and online sources (i.e.; Westlaw, LexisNexis, Bloomberg Law).
When citing to a code found on an electronic database, the citation should still include the name of the publisher, editor, or complier unless the code is published, edited, or complied by or under the supervision of federal or state officials.
However, rather than give the year of the code, Rule 12.5(a) states that the name of the database and information regarding the currency of the database as provided by the database itself should be located within the parenthesis.
Here is an example:
5 U.S.C.S. § 301 (LexisNexis, LEXIS through Pub. L. No. 119-20)
Rule 12.5(b) and Rule 18.2.1(a) allow citations from an online version of a code to be cited as though the print version was used if it is an "authenticated, official, or exact copy" of the print code. Thus, if the online version meets one of these criteria, the statutory citation can be formatted as if you were citing to the original print source.
For example, GovInfo provides users with an online version of the United States Code. If you were to use that database to find the statute, the citation can be cited to the United States Code as though the official print version was used to locate the statute.
NOTE: United States Code Annotated and United States Code Service are not authenticated, official, or exact copies of the print version. To cite to those sources in their online formatting, follow the rule to the right.
